DEV Community

Cover image for Local Hack Day: BUILD and why you should join it?
Anu Sharma
Anu Sharma

Posted on

Local Hack Day: BUILD and why you should join it?

So as the weeklong grand hackathon organized by Major League Hacking comes to an end, I am feeling a cocktail of emotions. I am exhausted, happy, sad and excited. being a newbie in the field of coding and hackathons, I had a vague idea as to what exactly I would be expected to build at this hackathon. Nonetheless, I joined the hackathon and now I can confidently say that I am a more experienced programmer than I was a week ago.
the hackathon not only had workshops to help you build something that you can gladly show off on your resume, it also had mini-events such as "Cup-stacking" and "Chrome-Dino Game"(which i am surprisingly good at) to help you relax and take a break from an otherwise busy schedule.
I learned a new language called "EmojiCode" , built a chess game in Java, built a tic-tac-toe game, and also followed tutorials to build something and earn points. One of the most important and relevant experience I had was networking. Networking with people I had not known before and competing with a guild made me more confident in my abilities. And I gotta tell you the joy and rush you get when you see your name on the leaderboard is something I cannot convey in words.
And if this is not enough to get you to participate in such hackathons , I have one last thing to motivate you... SWAGS. yes, you read it right for each and every hacker who completes a single challenge, MLH provides stickers and masks that you can deck out on your laptop and show off.

Now, here are a list of few hackathons that you can attend even if you missed out on LHD: Build. Remember that it is never too late or never too early to take part in a hackathons. There are hackathons for high-school students as well so you should definitely be on a lookout for such events:

  1. HackTheNorthEast
  2. RoseHacks
  3. HackDavis
  4. ElleHacks
  5. HackViolet

And many more..
You can check out various hackathons at https://mlh.io/

Keep LEARNING. Keep CODING.

Top comments (0)