DEV Community

Cover image for How to keep motivation?
Bruno Almeida
Bruno Almeida

Posted on

How to keep motivation?

Over the past few weeks/months I'm started to be confused and king of unmotivated on how to keep my motivation on things that I'd like to do outside of my daily work at a company.

How do you keep yourself motivated and what king of advice do you have to continue personal projects and always learn new things, and not get out of the ~rails~?

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
titanmaru profile image
Once upon a time

Honestly, I think I just pass that period myself. I would say go take a walk. Get out and see the world will give you some answers like why would I want to keep doing what I'm doing? Why am I waking up every morning? And above all, enjoy what you do, not what you think you'd like to do. Now after you reminding me, I'll go take a walk under the beautiful sky of Tokyo about now.

Collapse
 
niorad profile image
Antonio Radovcic

The best thing for that is to keep the momentum by working on the thing every day, even if only a little. Also it's important to recognize when a project just doesn't interest you that much after all, and not be afraid to end it. In my life, the hobby-projects that did get finished/not-abandoned are the ones with either a deadline (a wedding-game, an x-mas-game) or enough positive feedback in the beginning by releasing early (devlids.com)

Collapse
 
lcfd profile image
Luca Fedrizzi

Stupid advice but that could be useful: try to change the place where you work, for example in a bar or a library.

Another is to involve other people :)

Collapse
 
josegonz321 profile image
Jose Gonzalez • Edited
  • No motivation or inspiration.
  • Only practice.
  • Enjoy your plateau.
  • You’ll get to the next level when you least expected 🙂