DEV Community

Cover image for I published my first Angular component on npm

I published my first Angular component on npm

Last month I was tasked to come up with the "perfect" starter kit for future projects at my work.
So I looked at a lot of recent projects and made a list of packages that we always need. At almost every project we like to use Angular Material because it brings a lot of functionality with it. 95% of the time it has everything you need.
But sometimes you need something custom, like a component.

Sadly Angular Material doesn't come with something like a skeleton loading component. Which kinda surprised me because if I remember right Google was one of the first which came up with this. Anyways, I wanted a component like this because it looks way better than a single boring spinner. It's also a great thing to mock parts of the UI when you have no content.
I decided this would be the best opportunity to create my first standalone component, because I want to be able to add it wherever I need it, obviously also for my private projects. And maybe other people need something like this as well.

After reading the docs about how to create and building the actual standalone component I was ready to publish it on npm. The whole process needed about 30 minutes, which was pretty fast because I thought it would be way more complicated.

So yeah, I want to add a lot more functionality to it, like theme-support and different loading animations and stuff like that, but for now, I'm really happy to be able to share the very first version of it.

Let me know if you what you think and if you are going to use it let me know!

Interactive Demo: https://stackblitz.com/edit/ng-skeleton-demo
Repo: https://github.com/benjaminraffetseder/ng-skeleton#readme
npm: npm install ng-skeleton --save

Top comments (0)