DEV Community

Cover image for How I pushed myself to learn programming | Motivation
Rashid
Rashid

Posted on

How I pushed myself to learn programming | Motivation

Photo by Dimi Katsavaris on Unsplash

Hi DEVs!

As you see from title of this post, I am going to share with you my short life story.

I got too many questions from social media about my learning path and what exactly I did to learn coding. So, I decided to answer these questions with experiences from my life story.

Far away from home

Well, when I was 12 years old my parents send me very far away from home to study and learn how to take care of myself. Actually, it was really bad experience for me and my health affected from these situations. Food was the main problem because there are 1000 people living in school dorm. Teachers were really bad even sometimes tried to attack students. Every time I sleep I pushed myself to think it is just nightmare and I will woke up in home next morning. Nope, it was real..

I got bullied in that school, depression and stress level was full so I had some physiological issues at that time. It was like solider school, after a while I adapted that system and started becoming stronger.

Preparing for university

After painful 3 years I returned to home and started to prepare university exams. During that time, I bullied so many times in my new school, so I was alone without friends and tried to focus on my studies.

In the other hand, I used to go extra courses for preparing university exams due to bad education system in schools. In that courses all my teachers said to me that you will never be successful in this life and called my parents to report my studies regularly.

Well, I changed my courses so many times but it's even getting worse. Some of teachers started physical attack when I didn't prepare my homework. As a result, I am getting some damages from my legs and arms every time I didn't complete my homework.

Finally, exam days comes and I failed almost every exam that I prepared. My parents were so disappointed and started argue with me about my miserable situation.

I started to find some universities on internet which accepts with IELTS certificate with level B1. There was so many universities in abroad which accepts by this level, so I applied some of them. As a result, I got accepted to university in Poland the faculty of computer science engineering.

But believe me that wasn't easy as it looks. I faced a lot of difficulties while trying to come Poland.

Worst part of my life

Well, I was 17 years old when started to university. The main problems were I had no place to stay, I don't know Polish language and they don't know English as well, so communication is hard.

University provided me with dormitory but it was extremely bad. There is no hot water, far away from university, foods and money stolen by unknown persons, sleepless nights and more.

Well, some people offered to me stay with them in apartment and those people were same country with me. After moving to their apartment things got worse again. After few month, I realized they are doing some illegal stuff and I didn't want to be part of it. Unfortunately, I got flu and my body temperature increased 40° C , so I asked glass of water from them. They didn't help me, absolutely nothing. I tried really hard to stay awake and bought ticket to my country.

I collected my things and went out to the airport in the middle of winter with 40° C. Flight took 11 hours because of transfer flight. I blacked out when arrived in my country because of long duration of high body temperature.

Doctor said it is miracle how I survived but my vision decreased due to the high temperature and pressure in plane.

It was time to return back to Poland again after 2 weeks. I kicked out from my last place and there is no place to stay again. I found apartment with one guy but apartment was full of cockroaches. I can't cook or sleep because of cockroaches. The money was limited, so it was time to decrease my food. I only ate in morning chocolate and for dinner spaghetti.

I failed my first year

Yes. How I can focus my lessons with these opportunities? My parents were extremely angry to me. Well, I wasted my first year but it wasn't my fault.

I got kicked out from university and my life was wasted.

At this time, I thought to give up because I can't continue anymore with these physiological health and all these failures.

Only those who dare to fail greatly can ever achieve greatly. ― Robert F. Kennedy

After a long time, I decided to try again.

In the end of the summer 2017 I applied same university the faculty of computer science engineering.

In the beginning, everything was fine but after 2 months my roommate and other guys started illegal jobs. I warned them to stay away from illegal things but they didn't listen to me even started argue and bullied me. I went back to my country in January and when came back I saw my things in front of the door. They kicked me out from apartment even I paid all month.

I can't do anything because they have so many people around them but I am only with myself.

Living in Streets

That's it, I am homeless now.. I had no money, no friends to stay and everything messed up.

I spent 2-3 nights in metro of Warsaw while searching cheap dorms. In university everyone looked at me like a loser. Of course my clothes was bit dirty, even I had no money to give washing centers and I was starving.

After sleepless nights I found some cheap dorm. I used to stay with 7 people in roof. There is no heating system in roof so I got heavy flu. My throat was extremely bad I can't even normal breath. Also my stomach was really bad felt like throw up. Overall, I was lying on the cold floor (there is no bed) and thinking how to overcome from these situation.

Never give up. It's like breathing—once you quit, your flame dies letting total darkness extinguish every last gasp of hope. You can't do that. You must continue taking in even the shallowest of breaths, continue putting forth even the smallest of efforts to sustain your dreams. Don't ever, ever, ever give up. ― Richelle E. Goodrich, Smile Anyway

I tried so hard to stand up went out for pharmacy. After all, I had very small amount of money and I am really sick of from my situation.

Making decision

It was time to make a decision. It can't continue like this anymore.. So, I started to learn WordPress and went out to search for some clients. After meeting with 5 clients, one of them accepted my website offer. I built a website for him in a week and got my first money.

That was super motivation for me! I paid my two month stay for the dorm. Actually, the dorm was one of the worst dorms in Warsaw. Lot of illegal stuff again and it is hard to stay with 7 people in a room or roof. I can't buy food for myself because they are stealing it, also I got bullied many times in that dorm.

Unstoppable

Difficulties are not obstacles for me anymore. At this time, I started to learn Back-End Development. Every single day was chance to me, so I used to spend 10 hours each day to learn programming.

When you face difficult times, know the challenges are not sent to destroy you. They are sent to promote, increase and strengthen you. – Joel Osteen

I pushed myself to learn fast to get a job because my goal was survive from dorm, move to new apartment. Reverse Programming method made me to learn extremely fast and effective.

Secrets of Reverse Programming | Learn Coding Faster

I got kicked off from dorm many times because I was late about 5 minutes from closing time. As a result, I used to spend nights in streets, anyway that was regular situation for me. It can sound like it is impossible but I can't do anything against them.

I didn't stop! When you have goal you must consider to reach your goal whatever it takes. So, every morning I woke up at 7 o'clock, drink a glass of water and started to learn.

Work while they sleep, learn while they party, save while they spend, live like they dream.

At the weekend, when everyone having fun I was at dorm learning programming whole day. I didn't stop even a minute! In the other hand I learned polish language. So it became easier to communicate with people.

Conclusion

At the end of semester, I passed all my exams and successfully completed my first year and got paid internship. All these years were incredibly hard to me, so it caused some health problems to me during this time, but it is fine now. Of course there are lot of details that I didn't mentioned here so it is only 40% of my life story.

Overall, I have strong programming skills now and I am in my new apartment. This is my final year in university so it is time for rise up.

Don't listen to anyone, if you have a dream go for it! Don't let anyone to stop you! It is important to be patient and calm, believe me you will succeed if you PUSH yourself to learn new things EVERYDAY.

Let's end this post with rock music named The Score - Unstoppable

Now, tell me what is your decision?

Reverse Python
Instagram
Twitter

Top comments (20)

Collapse
 
ngacho profile image
Ngacho

This is the most beautiful story I have ever heard... Honestly. I cant even explain how hugely it inspired me. I can only wish you the best in your programming journey!! Honestly congratulations for overcoming all those things!!!!

Collapse
 
thedevtimeline profile image
Rashid

Thank you very much! You guys also supporting me to stay motivated🤗🚀🚀

Collapse
 
ngacho profile image
Ngacho

I hope to meet you someday honestly.

And thank you for motivating me too

Thread Thread
 
thedevtimeline profile image
Rashid

👍👍🚀🚀🚀

Collapse
 
pedropcruz profile image
Pedro Cruz

Wow, what a story! Congratulations and keep strong! 💪

Collapse
 
thedevtimeline profile image
Rashid

🙌🚀

Collapse
 
syqqy profile image
Shadogie

Hello 👋, I'm from Poland. I'm so so sorry for what happened to you. I wish you further success and I hope you make your dreams come true.

Collapse
 
thedevtimeline profile image
Rashid

Hey! Thanks for your kind words :) Wish you the same.

Collapse
 
noah670 profile image
Noah

Keep on going friend, your story inspires me to learn new things everyday!

Collapse
 
wanahmadfiras profile image
wanahmadfiras

Damn, you're inspiring me on many levels! Thank you for sharing your experience. Your story looks like the modern version of biblical Joseph.XD

Collapse
 
cuongld2 profile image
cuongld2

Yeah, keep trying.
The definition of suscess is nothing but at least you try all you can.
Good work man !!!

Collapse
 
thedevtimeline profile image
Rashid

Thanks!🙌🙌🚀

Collapse
 
vidban profile image
Vi

Thank you for sharing your story. Your courage and determination are so inspiring.

Collapse
 
thedevtimeline profile image
Rashid

🤗🙌

Collapse
 
abir045 profile image
Salekin Imran

awesome story and great post...:)

Collapse
 
rakeshvadnala profile image
rakeshvadnala

Brother,
Your story is very terrifying me.
But end of the story is successful and happiness. But
No one knows what firstly he struggles.

At lastly All Te Best for everything brother.
-Rak

Collapse
 
thedevtimeline profile image
Rashid

Exactly! Thank you man! I just wanted to motivate people. Because there are always obstacles and difficulties in this life.

Collapse
 
biaowu82 profile image
Biao.Wu

hi, bro.
keep going.

Collapse
 
septynade profile image
Ade • Edited

You're an inspiration! I was just ready to give up before reading this. I'm glad that you've find success now, congratulations.

Collapse
 
mrdaggubati profile image
MrDaggubati

Fasinating story....
It could go wrong for many with those situations yet you turned around your life.

How are you doing now!?... You got really nice skills...