DEV Community

Cover image for grub rescue
Wil Crat
Wil Crat

Posted on • Updated on

grub rescue

#THIS METHOD WORKS FOR ANY LINUX DISTRIBUTION
I was updating my Kali Linux Packages then there was a sudden power failure before the update was complete and my PC shut down. When i powered it on later i found myself in this trouble: 👇

grub rescue>

I spent a whole week on online help and tried out fixing the boot error with all the solutions i found but failed.
I tried all the (hd0,msdos5) stuff that you have also tried 😅 but my pc still returned "unknown file system" . Reason why this can't fix the problem is because my bootloader was not displaced but it was deleted or corrupted.
I only found one method that is very simple and quick.

Now get this:

BOOT REPAIR TOOL

  1. Create a Bootable Flash Disk with UBUNTU using Rufus or any other tool that can burn an iso image.
  2. Shut down your Pc then plug in the Flash Disk.
  3. Power on your pc and press the ESC button as the PC boots and then boot from the Flash Disk
  4. Select TRY UBUNTU !!(do not instal Ubuntu)!! .
  5. Enter the Ubuntu System and Open the Terminal.
  6. Connect to a network.
  7. Enter the following commands:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:yannubuntu/boot-repair && sudo apt-get update

"Press Enter"

sudo apt-get install -y boot-repair && boot-repair

  1. Click repair,complete then restart the computer and boot yo linux.
  2. Open the terminal and type this command to uodate grub menu.

sudo update-grub

🥳🥳You fixed it.

Top comments (0)