DEV Community

Liam Gomez
Liam Gomez

Posted on • Updated on

Day 5/100 Java

Afternoon!

Day 5/100

Language:
JAVA

Time Period Spent:
2hrs

Course Taken:
Udemy: Java Programming Masterclass - Tim Buchalka

Todays Learning:

  • Method Overloading
  • Code Challenges:

    • Leap Year Calculator
    • Decimal Comparator
    • Equal Sum Checker
    • Teen Number Checker
    • Method Overloading (Measurement Converter)

Additional Notes:
Easing my way through the course. I have realised that I enjoy to overcomplicate my solutions, I do this in hope to incrementally cut down on the amount of code written. I guess that this is a way of allowing me to visually see what I can improve on and what needs changing.

While learning method overloading, I realised that it can be useful to overload methods by applying different parameters to go into it but, I still question the use-case. Why overload the method when you can rewrite it in a different method and make your code easier to read?

Understandable that we want to use a method overload to be able to have different implementations of the same method but It seems to make the code harder to read in my eyes. I write this knowing that I will most likely look back and say I can live without them.

If anyone has an explanation for this, I would very much like to talk on it!

Top comments (0)