DEV Community

Cover image for The importance of coffee behind development
DevLorenzo for World In Dev

Posted on • Updated on

The importance of coffee behind development

A bad day with coffee is always better than a good day without it.

Hello World! My first three #healthydebate generated more than 6000 views and 200 comments! So I decided to create another one, it feels so good to have interactions with other programmers!
I'm interested in the importance of coffee in our everyday life and even more in our developer life. How much coffee do you usually drink in a day? Out of ten, what is the importance of coffee for you? Do you think you can survive a day / a week / a month without coffee?

Most don't know, but a developer is someone who turns coffee into code. ☕

image

Hey, remember to drop that follow!

While searching online, I found this very cool article about Coffee - A Dev's Heaven.


Ps: Tea and other drinks will not be marginalized.
In this case, What do you usually drink when coding?


Remember the comment!

image

Check these articles about how programmers love to code / best operating system for dev


Recommended reading:


PS: I add another very Italian question; A great debate here in Italy is about the cup, glass, or ceramic?
I'm not kidding, there are those who refuse to drink coffee except in their favorite type of cup. 😂
What do you think about that?

PPS: Here the cup of @panditapan 😍

image

Here another cup 🙃
image


Subscribe to my Newsletter!

A loooong, and fun, weekly recap for you
Free PDF version of my articles
Highly customizable inbox
That's --> free <-- and you help me!

Top comments (68)

Collapse
 
codemouse92 profile image
Jason C. McDonald

I adore the taste of coffee, and normal levels of caffeine have practically no effect on me, so I drink it continually throughout the day. The smell of hot coffee always makes me feel more productive. It puts me in the mood to work.

Personally, I like Pike Place Roast or Yukon Blend (Starbucks is a great company support!!), either as a pour-over or French press. But I'm really not picky: I enjoy Arabica any way I can get it.

Collapse
 
gjaryczewski profile image
Gerard Jaryczewski

Wow, 99% of agree. To put something new, I have one story about special way of making coffee. It is not a special way generally (simple coffee with fat milk), but it has the taste of coffee in my first job. I was pretty excited and motivated in these days, so - maybe, who knows - this feeling of productivity is supported by memorized age of primal productivity?

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

So how many cups do you drink every day?

Collapse
 
codemouse92 profile image
Jason C. McDonald • Edited

Usually, 3-5 cups throughout the day. The last one is usually just before bed; I love my evening cuppa!

I also use my coffee consumption to ensure I stay hydrated: my rule for myself is to drink a full (reusable) bottle of water before I can refill my coffee.

Collapse
 
alphavader profile image
KB

I've switched to green tea for a while now and can say i love it..
I still drink one coffee in the morning from time to time.. But overall too much coffee does not let me sleep well..

If you're really interested in beeing productive and have good energy, coffee only is not the only solution..
Sleep ( well and enough).. Food.. Workout is.

But overall.. I really enjoy fresh burned coffee bones and coffee ☕

Cheers

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

Thanks for your comment ❤️.
What kind of tea do you prefer?

Collapse
 
dastasoft profile image
dastasoft

Great debate for sure, I personally cut down on coffee consumption at the time when I realized I make better decisions in a calm state, maybe with coffee we produce more, but I find quality not quantity more interesting.

My best ideas always come when I'm doing sport, so I think it's better to identify when you're being most creative and try to take advantage of that rather than loads of coffee to pump the engines uncontrollably :)

If the problem you are trying to solve is that you are tired, then the problem lies in your work-life balance and you need to invest time in solving it.

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

You are definitely right! Thanks for your comment ❤️.

What sport do you do?

Collapse
 
erickhagstrom profile image
Erick Hagstrom

I used to drink a pot of coffee before lunch and another few cups after. I've cut way back since I got my Adderall prescription. Turns out I was self-medicating myself for my undiagnosed ADHD.

I feel better now, and more productive, too.

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

Thanks for your comment ​🙂​.

Yes, coffee is certainly not a calming thing. And what do you drink now to replace it, tea?

Collapse
 
erickhagstrom profile image
Erick Hagstrom

Well, I still drink a little coffee, and a little green chai. Sometimes rooibos chai. Occasionally another herbal tea. But my point was that the Adderall provides the stimulant effect that I once needed coffee to provide. Now I don't need coffee to function, I can just drink it because I like it.

Collapse
 
maureento8888 profile image
Maureen T'O

I personally love ☕️ but tea is great as well. In terms of development, I find caffeine helps me focus better and helps me think faster 😄 If I'm tired, that's a bonus for needing coffee, haha! I don't drink enough for it to be a problem but I do find it gives a kick to help me start working and focus my attention :)

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

Thanks for your comment! And which coffee do you prefer?

Collapse
 
maureento8888 profile image
Maureen T'O

Haha I enjoy a cappuccino or latte!

Thread Thread
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo • Edited

As an Italian, I congratulate you on the cappuccino!

Thread Thread
 
maureento8888 profile image
Maureen T'O

Hahaha yesss! Go cappuccino team! ❤️☕️

Collapse
 
facundocorradini profile image
Facundo Corradini

I'm actually trying to cut down on coffee, 'cause I've been chugging about one liter a day for years, and that simply can't be healthy.

Specialty teas and much smaller cups of specialty coffees are doing the trick

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

Nice, and are you succeeding in reducing the coffee or is it more difficult than expected?

Collapse
 
facundocorradini profile image
Facundo Corradini

Going great so far, thanks! Got some moody moments the first two weeks, but I believe my body has already adapted to the much lower caffeine levels.

Collapse
 
tfantina profile image
Travis Fantina

On average I drink 0 cups of coffee a day. I've never had a coffee.

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

Nice, And what do you prefer to drink instead?

Collapse
 
tfantina profile image
Travis Fantina

Mostly just water. I actually discovered this cool hot drink about a year ago, Crio Bru, it's ground coco beans and you brew it like coffee but it has a strong chocolate taste add some cream and sugar and it tastes like cocoa.

Collapse
 
egilhuber profile image
erica (she/her)

I can usually be found with a mug at my desk! I'm not a morning person, so the extra kick from 1-3 cups gets me going. My hands are also always freezing so having a warm cup of something is a must. I don't like to do all day coffee, though, so I'll usually switch to tea or soda in the afternoon.

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

Yes, coffee is good, but with moderation. And freezing hands are really a pain when programming (writing quickly on pc or worst on phone).

Collapse
 
tankerguy1917 profile image
tankerguy1917

Personally, I don't like coffee very much. Even with sweeteners and other things like that, but maybe I just haven't found the right type of coffee. I usually drink soda, mainly Root Beer, when I program, but most people I know would rather have coffee.

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

And what do you think of tea?

Collapse
 
tankerguy1917 profile image
tankerguy1917

Well, I personally don't like tea either. Out of all the tea I've tried, I have only liked one, but I don't know what it is called.

Collapse
 
heatherw profile image
Heather Williams

I usually only have 1 cup of coffee in the morning but I can happily ignore the coffee. Tea (nothing fancy, just ceylon tea with a bit of milk) for me has a whole process involved in making it and is a calm oasis in my usually busy days. I turn tea into code and the number of cups of tea consumed increases with the complexity of the project. And if I have two cups of tea in front of me then things are out of control.

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

🍵🍵

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

Thanks for your comment ❤️. And how many cups of tea do you drink every day or so?

Collapse
 
heatherw profile image
Heather Williams

2 cups minimum but usually 3 or 4. Up to one (or more) cups every hour if the day is really stressful. I think my record was somewhere around 12 cups in one day.

Thread Thread
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo • Edited

Wow! 12 cups in one day!

(Even if it's not something I should congratulate you on)

Collapse
 
panditapan profile image
Pandita

I drink one espresso (one shot) in the morning and if I find myself at my parents (normally on Friday afternoons or weekends) I'll also have a double shot espresso :3

I don't normally have coffee during the weekend and if I ever get an itch for coffee in the afternoon, I'll make a decaf espresso. Making sure I don't get addicted is part of the fun XD

I also love tea so I tend to have 2 teas a day, one in the late morning and one before bed :D (the one before bed is a bad idea since I don't really check which tea has theine so...)

I've been able to survive without coffee for days, weeks and months, and if I wanted to I could stop whenever I want buuut.... I really like coffee XD

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo • Edited

Yes, though we need to care as it doesn't become an addiction the coffee is useful and, it's just good to drink!

A great debate here in Italy is about the cup, glass, or ceramic?
I'm not kidding, there are those who refuse to drink coffee except in their favorite type of cup. 😂
What do you think about it?

Collapse
 
panditapan profile image
Pandita

ooh that's an interesting debate! I'm not picky so you can even give me coffee in a metal coffee cup and I'll appreciate it but if you want me to make a choice between either oooone would be neither, my favorite cup happen to be cups made from clay or mud!

mud cup with cow

they remind me a lot of home, early mornings waiting for my aunt to make me some coffee and then wait for the arepas to be done, being at a finca (small farm!) with the sound of farm animals (and a parrot probably) waking me up... aaaaah the life of agriculture! The cool thing is that they tend to come in sets! with a coffee jar and the little setup to use the... coffee sock? (I don't know how to call it in english hahaha)

mud coffee kit

We need to add these to the debate don't you think? :D

Thread Thread
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

ahahaha

I edited the article!

Collapse
 
aarone4 profile image
Aaron Reese

You need to asses why you are in the coffee habit. Do you need the liquid, drink hot water and lemon. Do you need to step away from the computer and go make a brew, go juggle instead. Do you need the caffeine, drink tea as an alternative. Is making espresso or caffetitere a ritual, go meditate. You love the taste, just drink better coffee. 😁

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

You are definitely right! Thanks for your comment ❤️.

Were you able to identify what you were looking for in coffee? What are you drinking now?

Collapse
 
danieluhl profile image
Typing Turtle

One coffee every morning. Can’t be productive without it

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

And how many do you drink every day? Which brand is your favorite?

Collapse
 
danieluhl profile image
Typing Turtle

Just one per day. I get the bluebottle whole bean subscription and grind fresh each morning with half cup whole milk and one pack of splenda. I've tried a few of the coffee box subscriptions and bluebottle seems to have the best value for price.

Collapse
 
rrsartpl profile image
rrsartpl

Green tea, red tea, white tea, water, smoothie with guarana.

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

And what do you think of coffee?

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

🍵🍵

Collapse
 
nicozerpa profile image
Nico Zerpa (he/him)

I'm a big fan of speciality coffee, I drink a cup of joe every morning. However, I don't really drink coffee while coding. But I do know some colleagues who drink dozens of cups in the office, before the pandemic.

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

Yes, coffee can easily become an addiction, and the more you drink, the harder it's to escape...