DEV Community

Cover image for What's Something You Want to Learn How to Do in Your Code Editor?
Jeremy Friesen for The DEV Team

Posted on

What's Something You Want to Learn How to Do in Your Code Editor?

I've had quite the tour of text editors in my career. And have settled on Emacs. Today, I sat down and wrote "What's Something You Want to Learn How to Do in Your Editor?" in my personal agenda.

Then I filled it out:

  • I want to learn how to do multi-edit within a highlighted region
  • I want to learn how to do undo within a highlighted region

(Both of these are possible in Emacs)

So I sat down and learned it, and along the way learned about the amazing: M-x narrow-to-region

But what about you. What's something you want to learn how to do?

Top comments (23)

Collapse
 
mhmxs profile image
Richard Kovacs

Exit from Vim XD

Collapse
 
siddharthshyniben profile image
Siddharth

Is this some kind of peasant joke im too rich to understand?

Collapse
 
mhmxs profile image
Richard Kovacs

When i first started vi, there was no personal internet, or just a few in my country. I was looking for linux, kernel compile etc issues on every Tuesday at school (age 16 withot proper english knowledge) so i had to open a new terminal to kill vi for first :D

Thread Thread
 
jeremyf profile image
Jeremy Friesen

Oh, my heavens. I remember getting stuck in Vim and Emacs without the basic guide to help me start my journey.

Collapse
 
psypher1 profile image
James 'Dante' Midzi

Use the github cli... I'm getting tired of having to open the browser to create new repos

Collapse
 
jeremyf profile image
Jeremy Friesen

Which editor do you use?

Collapse
 
psypher1 profile image
James 'Dante' Midzi

I switch between vs code and sublime

Thread Thread
 
jeremyf profile image
Jeremy Friesen

On my macOS machine, I installed hub and I believe you can create a repository by:

  1. brew install hub
  2. Ensuring you have the proper credentials
  3. hub create from your local repository
Thread Thread
 
psypher1 profile image
James 'Dante' Midzi

I'm on windows, the commands will be different...

I'll figure it out...

Thread Thread
 
pandademic profile image
Pandademic

have you tried the gh cli?

Thread Thread
 
psypher1 profile image
James 'Dante' Midzi

Yeah, I did...

But it's kind of silly that I can't push changes from it

Thread Thread
 
pandademic profile image
Pandademic

yep, definitely. Guess it's not supposed to be a drop in git replacement.

did you ever get hub to work?

Collapse
 
jonaspetri profile image
Jonas Petri

I’d like to learn how to use multi-edit in VSCode. I know how to select the same part of several lines at once, and how to select a recurring word, but everything else I have no idea how to do.

Collapse
 
dhravya profile image
Dhravya

You can hold down the ALT key, and click on all places you want the cursor to be. After that, multi-edit will be enabled!

Collapse
 
jonaspetri profile image
Jonas Petri

Oh, didn’t know that one, thanks!

Collapse
 
mhmxs profile image
Richard Kovacs

All the layout shortcuts

Collapse
 
jeremyf profile image
Jeremy Friesen

Which editor do you use?

Collapse
 
mhmxs profile image
Richard Kovacs

Vscode

Thread Thread
 
jeremyf profile image
Jeremy Friesen

One approach I've done is to crawl around and just spend time practicing. One strategy I've done with past mentees who wanted to get better at using short-cuts or hot-keys was to pair with them.

The goal of the pairing session was not to ship code but to practice our editors.

I'd observe when they chose an action that likely had a hot-key but they didn't use it. I'd interrupt them, ask if they wanted to learn that key, and we'd go figure it out; and practice a few times.

In my experience, investing in practicing your editor is worth a an or so month.

Collapse
 
flachica profile image
Fernando

I'd like to evaluate a selected expression in debug Mode of vscode. IntelliJ has a evaluate expression tool that I haven't find in vscode

Collapse
 
shinigami92 profile image
Shinigami

I would like to learn how to code a VSCode extension that uses interactive 2D rendering for e.g. node graphs

Collapse
 
w3ndo profile image
Patrick Wendo

I want to learn how to search only the files changed since the last commit. Idk if this is even possible.

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

You could do this in vim or emacs with a could of lines I expect.
If you were using fzf and ripgrep it'd probably be something people have done before. I'd do it from the command line to launch vim, personally:

  vim $(rg datetime $(git diff --name-only HEAD~1) | fzf)
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode