DEV Community

Dakota Lewallen
Dakota Lewallen

Posted on • Updated on

How do you balance professional work and open source?

Hey dev.to community. Obviously the answer to the title is extremely subjective. Everyone leads different lives, and holds different values. We're amongst some of the lucky few where there's a hobbiest community surrounding our professional line of work. For those of you that participate in both, how do you go about balancing the two? How do you balance the two with your personal life? Since the beginning of the year, I've put more effort towards open source, than I have in the last two years combined. I don't regret it by any means. I've met some cool people, worked on some great projects and grown exponentially. But with that I try to be mindful of how much time I give from week to week, so that I still maintain my personal life. For me, that usually means only one or two days of contributions towards open source projects per week.

Let's hear from you guys. Where do you strike a balance?


Find me on Twitter | LinkedIn
Like the article? Buy me a coffee!

Top comments (0)