DEV Community

Cover image for Why I made a React Components library based on the concept of Neumorphism?
Saeed Ahmad
Saeed Ahmad

Posted on • Updated on

Why I made a React Components library based on the concept of Neumorphism?

So, If you are a designer or a passionate front end developer, then it's more likely that you have heard about the concept of Neumorphism.

If you haven't let us first understand it:

"The neomorphic effect is a combination of the current famous flat UI and the old skeuomorphic principles! The components have a dark box-shadow on the bottom and a light box-shadow on top; the combination of both creates the effect of the elements pushing themselves through your display."

It's also called Soft UI.

What next ?

When I saw all these designs on Dribble and articles on Medium, I started thinking about it's implementation in ReactJS.

So, I started working on an awesome library called neumorphic-ui as I call it. I implemented 6 basic components in it. The components are NeuButton, NeuCard, NeuReaction, NeuHeading, NeuInput and NeuProgressBar.
If you want to see it on GitHub, just go to this link.

How to use neumorphic-ui?

I have also published it as an npm package. To use it, you just have to do npm install --save neumorphic-ui and you are there.

Contributions/Suggestions

Contributions to the library are welcome. Just pull it and make a merge request. I will review the code and then if it's up-to-the-mark, I will merge it. Also, if you can suggest something more better, just drop me a message here. My inbox is open for all of you. Also, you can send me an email on : saeed_dev@yahoo.com.

GitHub link : https://github.com/dev-saeed/neumorphic-ui
NPM Link : https://www.npmjs.com/package/neumorphic-ui
Docs Link : https://neumorphic-ui.netlify.com/

Thanks for reading this. Let's build a Neumorphic world together!

Credits :

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
muneebjs profile image
Muneeb Khan

Nice one!

Collapse
 
mrsaeeddev profile image
Saeed Ahmad

Thanks bro.

Collapse
 
navicsteinr profile image
Navicstein Rotciv

Nice, wish there's a standalone css framework like bootstrap for this

Collapse
 
mrsaeeddev profile image
Saeed Ahmad

Hey, I am going to make it a full fledged library like Material UI. Stay tuned!

Collapse
 
navicsteinr profile image
Navicstein Rotciv

Involve me in the project when you start, I would like to contribute too 🥰

Collapse
 
devkaahl profile image
Muhammad Khalil

Good job

Collapse
 
x1k profile image
Asaju Enitan

I'm gonna try this today, will give feedback

Collapse
 
manjots1607 profile image
Manjot Singh • Edited

Nice work , is this open source??? If yes, would like to contribute...

Collapse
 
mrsaeeddev profile image
Saeed Ahmad

Yeah. It's open-source. You are welcome to contribute.