DEV Community

Cover image for 🤦‍♂️ Weekly fail (32/2020)
Ondrej Polesny for Kontent.ai

Posted on

🤦‍♂️ Weekly fail (32/2020)

My computer started being unresponsive while editing a video in Adobe Premiere. When there is not enough RAM, Premiere uses hard drive space and calls that a “scratch disk.” I got to a point when it was impossible to save the project due to the scratch disk being full. I only allowed my primary SSD to be used as a scratch disk and - surprisingly - the drive had insufficient free space. I did not have anything “easily deletable” on the SSD, so I decided to add my other - SATA - drive as another scratch disk. 🤦‍♂️ Not the best idea. It enabled me to save the project, but it took several minutes. I could not continue working though.

Then I got another great idea. Maybe freeing up some space on the SATA drive would help. So I started the move of 30GB worth of videos from the drive to cloud. 🤦‍♂️ The disk usage maxed out and all that was left for me to do was to get out and walk my dog.

Lesson learned: Always use SSD as scratch disks/not-enough-RAM-disks and if you’re editing videos, do just that and don’t multitask.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
seangwright profile image
Sean G. Wright

Or buy a Sabrent Rocket and call it a day!

Collapse
 
ondrabus profile image
Ondrej Polesny

Do you have one? I'm looking for a new 1TB SSD and a good video card for video editing. Right now I only have integrated video card so all the hard work is done by i5 (which is doing an outstanding job given the circumstances I have to say!).

Collapse
 
seangwright profile image
Sean G. Wright

I just installed that Sabrent 1TB yesterday, so I can't speak to its performance personally. But the reviews for it show that it's one of the best SSDs on the market.

But you need a motherboard with PCIe 4.0 to really take advantage of it.