DEV Community

Paramanantham Harrison
Paramanantham Harrison

Posted on • Originally published at learnwithparam.com on

How to solve Git issues on renaming files and folder

Many of you might got nightmares due to file rename issues in git. Recently I encountered one issue, everything works locally but repeatedly my circle CI throwing error as file not found while transpilling JSX.

the filename was NavBar and I renamed it to Navbar everywhere in recent git commits. I didn’t noticed the mismatch in name, it takes a while for me to get to the root of the issue.

This is how I solved it, there might be other better solutions but this worked for me.

# Rename the file once again from Navbar to NavBar (basically revert back to original file name)
git mv NavBar.jsx Navbar.jsx
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

This solution can be applied to folder name change as well. For folders,

git mv ./NavBar ./Navbar
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Hope this helps you to learn the trick about git move command 🤗

Top comments (0)