DEV Community

Philipp Hansch
Philipp Hansch

Posted on • Originally published at phansch.net on

Monthly review: January

Sponsors

I’m incredibly thankful to the following people for sponsoring my open sourcework this past month: @repi, @oli-obk and @yaahc.

If you like what I’m doing and want to support my work, please consider sponsoring ❤️

What I’ve worked on

The most interesting thing is probably the addition of a glossary to the embedded book. I’ve been starting with some embedded development and have been reading through the existing documentation to look for improvements.

Another interesting thing, if you’re contributing to Clippy, is some streamlining around Clippy’s developer tooling: I replaced a shell script with a cargo alias to make contributing easier if you’re on Windows.

Reflections & Goals for February

This January I’ve unsubscribed from Clippy repository because I couldn’t deal with all of them anymore.



going to try and unsubscribe from all rust-lang/rust-clippy notifications and instead schedule fixed times for doing PR reviews

— #clippy::phansch January 11, 2020

I have found it increasingly exhausting to try and react to every GitHub notification. While I admit that it’s not required to respond to every notification properly, I was also feeling bad about constantly marking notifications as done from my side even though they really weren’t done from the other person’s perspective. When I came to that realization, I decided to unfollow the repository and instead assign fixed time chunks for reviewing PRs.

At the end of the month I unfortunately caught a cold and I’m still partly recovering from it. Still, I think since unsubscribing from Clippy notifications I’ve gained back some of my previous momentum.

For this February I have the following goals:

  • Actually starting with embedded development, using the discovery kit
  • A second embedded rust post
  • Improving a diagnostic in rustc

Top comments (0)