DEV Community

Ricardo
Ricardo

Posted on • Updated on

Typescript & Tailwind Journey Pt. 1

The Project

The project that I decided to implement Tailwind and TypeScript is my personal website. My website currently uses Next.js, Contentful CMS, and Bootstrap. The only difference now is that it will be redesigned with Tailwind CSS and it will make use of TypeScript.

New Tech Stack Overview

  • Next.js
  • Tailwind CSS
  • TypeScript
  • Contentful CMS

Tailwind CSS

A couple days ago I decided I wanted to transition from using Bootstrap to Tailwind CSS. Now there are many CSS frameworks out there I could've gone with but I heard many great things about Tailwind CSS, so I decided to give it a try.

TypeScript

It is without a doubt that TypeScript is becoming increasingly popular and in demand. All for good reasons. It is there to yell at you in a good way that there are bugs and errors. This can be extremely useful in catching those pesky bugs before a project is deployed to a production environment. I decided to use this in my journey to learn it more.

What's Next?

In the next part I will talk about my thoughts on using Tailwind CSS and TypeScript after using them. The drawbacks and advantages that I saw in using them and how it compared to the old tech stack on my personal website. Now off I go to code! πŸ˜„ πŸ’»

Top comments (0)