DEV Community

Eric The Coder
Eric The Coder

Posted on

I change my mind, I'm going to follow my heart not my head ...

Two weeks ago I wrote a series of posts about my choice of backend framework. I was hesitating between Django (python), Rails (ruby) or Laravel (php). Here is the link on my reflection: https://dev.to/rickavmaniac/django-rails-or-laravel-my-personal-journey-30lh

A few days later, I published my conclusion that I finally chose Laravel (php). This choice was the most logical and reasonable. PHP is very popular and Laravel offers all the tools you need to create great web apps.

Only small problem ... This choice I made with my head and not with my heart. My heart had already switched to Ruby. Since the first day that I started programming with this language I immediately knew that for me it was special. I don't know how to put it in words but it sounds like Ruby really unleashes my creativity and accomplishes what I have in my head.

Why didn't I choose it, you will say? Well you probably know that Ruby's popularity is not at its peak and that Ruby is more of a mature language than young and sexy.

I think I got carried away by the desire to always want more and always something new and especially popular. After all, it's the web and it had to be cool!

It's been a few days now that I program in Laravel and whatever I have nothing to say against this framework, I must admit that it is not Ruby.

So I'm going to do something that I don't often allow myself and pound on my pride and admit that I should have chosen Ruby. My heart had chosen it for a long time and I should have listened to it.

Fortunately, it is not too late. So I am announcing that I will finally do this mega project in Ruby on Rails.

I just wasted a few days of programming but hey, damn it, I'm going to start all over in Rails.

I'm glad I made this decision and wanted to share it with you because I know that in 2020, admitting that we made a mistake and changing our mind is not a very popular concept.

I hope to do nice things with Ruby!

To be continued.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
gasharova profile image
Angelina Gasharova

I haven't seen your previous articles, but Id'much rather advise you to take up Python or Ruby rather than PHP. Laravel is great and the ORM works perfectly, but the market for PHP isn't that vibrant anymore. There's a lot of legacy code support and not too many new projects as most up-to-date teams prefer other tech stacks.