DEV Community

loading...

Discussion on: Stripe - Upgrading a subscription synchronously (immediately charge for a proration without webhooks)

Collapse
risafj profile image
Risa Fujii Author

Thanks and sorry, just saw this!

I haven't looked into downgrades, but I believe the default behaviour is to prorate the customer in the next invoice, just like upgrades (i.e. the customer gets refunded for the portion of the original plan that they didn't use).

When a customer’s plan changes during a billing cycle, a proration line item is applied on their next invoice.
stripe.com/docs/billing/subscripti...

I'm not sure about anything beyond what the docs say, so it might be good to contact Stripe's customer support for details.