DEV Community

Cover image for This is how I started using and leveraging anything that helped me grow and develop my skills.
Rio Jos
Rio Jos

Posted on • Updated on

This is how I started using and leveraging anything that helped me grow and develop my skills.

You came over this article because you were having trouble with putting the pieces of puzzle together. First of all let me just remind you that, you are not the first one who is having trouble figuring out how things work and how they could benefit you; nor will you be the last.

Let me just throw an example out for you to visualize the problem. Ok here goes, let's say you were having a peaceful conversation with one of your good friend. And your friend started introducing about a rather popular app. He blabbed about how many were using it. And after talking for a while. He said, "we should also try this out". Suddenly you became more self aware and tried not to sound too dumb. So, you said "I just don't know if it would ever be useful for me".

Now just think for a moment about this. What would have been a better reply?

Everything around us has an impact on us, one way or another. If you figure out how it can be applied to our lives then that would make a difference. Before I started developing myself I neglected many things. Even the most common things that made me who I am. But I had a wonderful friends and family that told me that I had time and I can decide how I survived. And that really inspired and motivated me to take a big step, which I believe has raised me to the heavenly light. But I gotta say it didn't happen overnight. It took a long time. But the voice of my influencers really helped me to stay on track. And I know how hard it's to deal with problem. So I wanted to share my story, so that a different person can benefit this treasure I kept.

Let's start shall we?

So, in the beginning I had many thoughts on how I should proceed. Too much, if you ask me. So I kept a journal recording many things. But it was much later that I found that it was the biggest time killer. I felt I was preparing for the biggest move of my life. But by just dreaming about different thoughts just pushed me away from my priorities. And one day I decided to stop and start by figuring out my priorities.

And this was my first step.

Priorities

By figuring out your priorities you are able to work on the most important part of your life.

Then came the most fun part, figuring out how to develop myself according to the priorities that I made. This is where I felt I had an immense control over my life.

So I began gathering information on how to start developing my skills. I had a lot of questions. And I furiously surfed the web and research a lot. Again time was going on. So here's the things that I wanted and learned.

Tutorials are good!

Well I had to know something before I started, no. So the best way was through tutorials. I chose the most popular of them all.

What about the starting point?

I got knowledge but I didn't know how I could begin. What the first step I should take.

But it is really simple. Start with step one. It can be anything like posting a article, signing up on a website. Take baby steps first. You might fall down but that's part of the lesson and it's fun.

I would like an example, please.

Did you know? The best way to learn something is through visualization. Also by observing the behavior of others. It's a theory called observational learning.

What my dream for the future really need to be?

OK, from all the lessons I figured I needed to redefine my future goal to be more realistic. And I figured by listing :

  • Things I like.
  • Things that make me happy.
  • Parts of myself I want to improve.

Would help in setting a realistic goal.

Try meditation.

Meditation might seem too weird. But it actually helps. It trains you to be alone in your thoughts. You learn to be more focused. And it really improves your mental health.

My own way to survival.

  • First improve yourself to be better always.
  • Keep on learning.
  • Do stuff, tweak and tinker.
  • Connect and network with people.

Being optimistic!

This is kinda an important one. To be positive is to know anything is possible. So do that.

This would help you in being optimistic :

  • Focusing more success.
  • Getting a role model.
  • By challenging all the negativity and taking risks.
  • Finding a cause you believe in.
  • Grasping inspirational stories.
  • Being part of a team.
  • Connecting with your spiritual self.
  • Thinking outside the box.

And last dealing with the Impostor Syndrome

This is just something thrown around that makes us feel bad. I had this while I began my journey. And it made me relearn many things like forever. Instead I could have started learning new things. Remember guys to recognize the real frauds. And separate your feelings from facts that you know are true. The facts that prove you do this with your own creativity. You might begin with the same idea. But creativity depends on the final version of the product.

If you think this helped you. I would appreciate if you would share it to help your circle.

We Take Of Our Own!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
momandalex022 profile image
Christine Marshall

you make lots of sense! i have been toying in my mind with not only using free learning tools but actually signing up with codecademy and making a more structured attempt at improving my css, i really want to become much more "fluent" in that... another great goal you mentioned is just becoming better at EVERYTHING, just being the person you want to become! Fake it till you make it kinda but don't get arrogant along the way... i really enjoy this three part series!
Christine

Collapse
 
riojos profile image
Rio Jos

Thank you <3
I made this to lend my support to all those who are just starting... I am really glad it is been received.

And just a personal fact: I wanted someone to tell me some of this when I started. But to find it yourself is also great!