DEV Community

Jonathan Irvin
Jonathan Irvin

Posted on

Jelly Fin: Got a minute? We could use it!

Hey Jellies!

We've been spinning our wheels getting a shared development platform settled before we start working on features. I need some experienced folks who have a minute to jump in and help us out. Here's our project:

GitHub logo two-jelly-beans / jelly-fin

A simple way to manage your finances with forecasting. We should automate our money, not make it automate us.

Jelly Fin

Discord Dependabot Status PRs Welcome contributions welcome CodeFactor


Finances are hard. It's one of the first adulting things everyone has to wrestle with. So, let's make it easy and automate it. Over the course of several years, my wife and I have tracked our finances using a forecasting method and had done it all within a spreadsheet. The time came where I wanted to take this concept and make it mobile using serverless architecture and clean design.

Getting Started

These instructions will get you a copy of the project up and running on your local machine for development and testing purposes. See deployment for notes on how to deploy the project on a live system.

Prerequisites

Installing and Running

  1. Clone the repo.
  2. Run npm install to cover any dependencies.

Common Issues:

If installation isn't working for you, check the following:

  1. Your version of node (v 8.x.x) & npm(v…

Short term needs

Things that are giving me gray hairs...

We need help setting up tests [Short-term]

I want to lay a good framework so we can add to it as we go, but I've been battling with Jest and React Native playing nicely. If you have some time, fork/clone our project and help us get our Travis/Jest with a simple smoke test to make sure our app can render.

We need a Docker ~guru~ person [Short-term]

I want to make it easy to jump in, so the community had the idea of a shared environment with Docker. Who can help us set that up and write some clean documentation on how to use it?

Multi-platform Travis Builds [Short-term]

Has anyone done this before that could help us get our build process nice and pretty?


Long term needs

Things that will eventually make me bite my nails.

Anyone willing to be a project manager? [Long-term]

We have some GitHub issues defined, but they should be decomposed and prioritized into milestones. I would love if someone can help me bring order to everything.

User Experience [Long-term]

As we start to gain traction and lay the groundwork for the app, we will eventually need some wireframes and designs to build towards. I have some basic ideas, but someone who's done this before might have better ideas ;).

Project Marketing [Long-term]

I feel like we've got a good thing here and I would love some help with outreach and content generation to talk about our progress and the work we're doing.

Top comments (0)