DEV Community

Divyesh Parmar
Divyesh Parmar

Posted on

I got my first interview call after 10 months

I am from India have been out of college since last August '17 and have been practicing Node.js/Express.js and created some web apps I also get to know how to work with MongoDB.

Last week I started applying through AngelList, and I got a call today stating that they would like to have an phone interview with me first and then if needed they would go with in person interview.

He also asked about my preferences to which I replied with Node.js, Express.js and mostly JavaScript, it seems I would be asked about the Databases too, but I'm not sure and nervous.

Can you guys suggest me something to prepare? also what should I expect in terms of salary (their stated cap is ₹500k per annum) and other general information that I should be looking for?

EDIT: they scheduled the interview just after 1.5 hours.

EDIT 2:
It was pretty nervous interview
I have been asked following questions:

  • what are promises in JS?
  • Explain Lexical Scope
  • What is Closures ( I knew it, but I got so nervous that I didn't answer)
  • Callbacks, and how is it different from Promises
  • what are node.js event loop ( which I got so nervous and wasn't able to say anything)
  • difference between double equals and triple equals
  • About SQL databases
  • Entity-Relationship models
  • which one would I choose for what kind of application SQL or No SQL? ( which again made me confused while answering)
  • have I used any design models (he also used the word patterns) while creating an application with end-to-end start with the database

-------- I answered that with " I used to create different entities the database, then create their tables and would try to find the relevance between the columns in tables, Would also set the foreign keys and primary keys.

( I know I would be completely wrong here, I would read more about this and work on it.)

  • if I have worked with front-end frameworks ( which I haven't yet )
  • how would I render docs from MongoDB with promises
  • why is there is need of promises, is it just because of Asynchronous part of JavaScript ( I didn't know anything about this)
  • what are anonymous functions.

Looking forward to advice/information and learning from you guys.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

You're well on your way. Now that you've shown some technical chops. At this point if you've done well I think you want to show that you'll be a good communicator, a good teammate and someone who brings their best to the job. Express a positive, curious interest in what it is they are making.

I'm not really sure what salary expectations will be like in your position.

But good luck! You'll do great.

Collapse
 
oathkeeper profile image
Divyesh Parmar

Yeah I regretted my stuttering during interview, that it might not have sounded like an energetic person, but I'm not sure of that. I really needed that advice.

For the salary expectation part I talked with my seniors from college and they told me a little higher then what I was aiming at which is ( my aim was to quickly get ₹500k ~ US$ 7452.12 but I have been told that I can go up till ₹900k ~ US$ 13413.82) so yeah that's that, being a fresher I feel scared to talk about salary any info on that?

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Yeah I regretted my stuttering during interview

No need for regrets, that'll fade away real quick. Next time just ask them about their own code/decisions/product. People love talking about themselves and it shows interest.