DEV Community

Cover image for Write Jira-flavoured Markdown the easy way!
Thomas Rigby
Thomas Rigby

Posted on

Write Jira-flavoured Markdown the easy way!

Like a lot of developers, I like to write in Markdown. Also, like a lot of developers, I use Jira a lot. The trouble is that Jira's Markdown is different to the Markdown I'm used to using.

For example, when I want to indicate a Heading using Markdown, I use the # symbol.

  ## Heading 2
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

If I'm adding text to Jira, the way to write the same heading is…

  h2. Heading 2
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I'm a lazy person, as all devs should be, so I don't want to learn two different flavours of Markdown.

transnano to the rescue!

I spend almost all of my day in VS Code and there's an extension that does exactly what I want: Markdown to confluence for VSCode Extension.

Now I can write my Jira ticket descriptions in the flavour of Markdown I'm most familiar with and use this extension to convert it into the flavour that Jira and Confluence understands.

Top comments (0)