DEV Community

Cover image for If you weren't a dev, you'd be a...
DevLorenzo for World In Dev

Posted on • Updated on

If you weren't a dev, you'd be a...

an astronaut🚀, a cook👩‍🍳, a dancer🕺 (maybe not this one), a policeman👮, a footballer⚽ (only if I lose my brain)...

So, do you understand what we're going to talk about here?


Hello World! My last #healthydebate generated really lots of interactions 🥳! So I decided to create another one, it feels so good to talk with other devs!

The question of the day is: "If you weren't a dev, you'd be a..."

Question time: <-- To help you answer the big question above

  • When you were a child, what did you dream of being when you grew up?
  • What are the three jobs you would never do?
  • What do you consider yourself good at? So what other job could you be successful in?
  • If you were forced to change your career, you would be a...

Ps: Hey, if you're not a full-time dev (yet), what is your current job? If so, are you working on becoming a programmer?


Remember the comment!

image


Check these articles about how programmers love to code / best operating system for dev


Recommended reading:


Think about that carefully, because you are always on time for
Change!

Or, and I don't blame you for it, you can always stay that way, I can't say it's negative...
Image of Jim Carrey tapping on a pc


Thanks for reading ❤️


Subscribe to my Newsletter!

A loooong, and fun, weekly recap for you
Free PDF version of my articles
Highly customizable inbox
That's --> free <-- and you help me!

Top comments (136)

Collapse
 
jmdejager profile image
🐤🥇 Jasper de Jager

Detective! Love puzzle solving and thinking outside the box 😎

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo • Edited

Sherlok

Collapse
 
rushannotofficial profile image
Rushan S J

I'd be a savage 😎

Collapse
 
devtalhaakbar profile image
Muhammad Talha Akbar

You know you can be a dev and a savage at the same time? :D

Collapse
 
faraazahmad profile image
Syed Faraaz Ahmad

so they're not the same thing??

Thread Thread
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

❤️

Collapse
 
ram7 profile image
Ram • Edited

Film director 🎬🙃

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

Collapse
 
siddharthshyniben profile image
Siddharth

Scientist? Inventor? Anything which involves creating, like programming

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

Designer is a beautiful "creation" job that doesn't seem considered by many here...
What do you think about it?

Collapse
 
michelledev3 profile image
michelledev
Collapse
 
siddharthshyniben profile image
Siddharth

Good one, but I'm not really good at art

Thread Thread
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

aaah, too bad, but maybe in your next life... 🙃

Thread Thread
 
siddharthshyniben profile image
Siddharth

Thanks! I was never really good at art too. Maybe I didn't try hard enough 😉.

Collapse
 
leob profile image
leob

Scientist? If I were smart enough LOL ...

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo • Edited


Collapse
 
teaglebuilt profile image
dillan teagle

Drug lord

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

Collapse
 
atulcodex profile image
🚩 Atul Prajapati 🇮🇳

ha ha ha :)

Thread Thread
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

🙃

Collapse
 
gaurang847 profile image
Gaurang

When you were a child, what did you dream of being when you grew up?

I really wanted to be an actor when I was little. I think actor, teacher, and doctor were the few jobs I knew at that time.
And it's not that I had a thing for acting. I just wanted to be on TV and be a star.
Didn't take long to grow out of it. LOL!

What are the three jobs you would never do?

  1. Doctor. Because I feel nauseated just looking at blood and wounds and stuff. I can't imagine myself working at a hospital.
  2. Politician. Because I dislike dealing with people
  3. Actor. Haha. I know. Ironic. Because I dislike dealing with people + too much attention

What do you consider yourself good at?

I'm good at solving problems and explaining stuff.

If you were forced to change your career, you would be a...

Well, IDK what I'd do if I were forced to change my career today. But if I could, I would've loved to be

  1. Panda caretaker or a zoologist.

    Because I love animals

  2. Professional figure skater.

    I learned roller skating as a kid and loved it. I used to roller skate at home all the time - from the time I woke up to going back to sleep, I'd keep them on.

    Sadly, it isn't a thing in India. So I never considered it a career option.

    In fact, until I watched Yuri on Ice! many years later, I didn't even know pro-skating was a thing 😭😭

  3. Physicist/Mathematician.

    I had great physics and maths teachers during my junior college. And I was aspiring to be a theoretical physicist for a brief period of time. Somehow, I didn't go that path.

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

Thanks for your comment ❤️.

A friend of mine would like to become a pro skater, I know it's very difficult because it doesn't really exist as a job. To live by doing it you must necessarily become famous enough to have sponsors. Although I must say that skating is growing more and more among young peoples...

Collapse
 
gaurang847 profile image
Gaurang

Yes exactly! I hope it keeps growing.
Please wish your friend all the best from my side. 😊
sending_good_vibes

Thread Thread
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

hahaha, he will appreciate it for sure

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

Congrats to @jmdejager @leob @ram7 @darkphantom7750 @teaglebuilt @tqbit @reenroommate!
Your comments got featured in our weekly discussion newsletter 😎.
We publish a DEV digest every Monday and a discussion digest, with the best comments of the week, every Wednesday. Subscribe here --> worldindev.ck.page!

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

Congrats also to @souk @eljayadobe and @ptprashanttripathi .

Collapse
 
jmdejager profile image
🐤🥇 Jasper de Jager

Thanks, I will check it out immediately! 😎

Collapse
 
maupanas profile image
Panagiotis Mavroskol

Physicist,Mathematician,inventor , I love creating stuff , maybe create innovative stuff products or even make films.

Jobs I despise would be:

Anything sales
Lawyer or the like
Anything accountancy business but not all business stuff there are some aspects that interst me the ones that involve math and decision theory.
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo • Edited

Lots of devs are mathematicians and/or creative too, especially the front-end devs. What kind of dev are you?

Collapse
 
maupanas profile image
Panagiotis Mavroskol

working towards it , I could work as a python programmer but I am now living in the countryside where such jobs do not exist. Working on my java not javascript , webdev skills, too . I still think math or physics would be more suited for me. I teach math occasionally .

Collapse
 
gcgbarbosa profile image
George C. G. Barbosa

Graphic designer

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

That's a job that I would like to do as well, especially being also web designer. The problem is finding the time to learn...

Collapse
 
eljayadobe profile image
Eljay-Adobe

When you were a child, what did you dream of being when you grew up?

Astronaut, or superhero.

(Before I found out that space is dangerous and inhospitable. And being a superhero would likely be a very short career.)

What are the three jobs you would never do?

Astronaut, superhero, or talk show host.

What do you consider yourself good at? So what other job could you be successful in?

Analytical thinking. Logistics.

If you were forced to change your career, you would be a...

Well, everything else being equal, and all said and told, I'd rather be rich than ugly.

Given that, my career would be indolent nouveau riche.

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

Although I don't understand why you quit the superhero career, Thanks for your comment @eljayadobe ❤️.

Collapse
 
eljayadobe profile image
Eljay-Adobe

re: Superhero career

I'll direct your attention to: The Boys, Invincible, The Specials, Special, Super, and Deadpool.

Collapse
 
thalitadev profile image
Thalita G.

When you were a child, what did you dream of being when you grew up?

I wanted to be a gamedev, so I'm not too far off. 🙃 I'm still planning to dig into gamedev as well.

People always thought I was gonna be an illustrator just because I could draw. My issue with drawing is that I need to be in the right mood AND be motivated to draw. I'd just be too unreliable. Doing coding was simply a much better choice because I basically enjoy it every day. 😂

So even if I weren't a dev I'd still not do illustration. Maybe I would be a webdesigner instead. I also absolutely loved physics at school, and heavily considered pursuing physics at one point, so perhaps it could've gone that way, like becoming a physicist for crime investigation.

I'm still very happy to be a dev though.

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

Thank you for your comment ❤️.

Seeing what you say the process of creating a video game, especially the complex 3d ones, seems to match what you like. It requires a lot of graphics (illustration), programming, and an interest in physics is always an important plus.

Also, for the webdev and web designer (maybe not for the physicist) it's not so difficult to learn/start doing it. Even not at the level of work right away, but just to see what you can do / if you enjoy it. If you have the time to do so, it costs you nothing.

Collapse
 
thalitadev profile image
Thalita G.

My current fulltime career is webdev so I'm aware of the things that are involved. 😄 I also did some freelancing that involved designing but I just always feel like something's not... right, even though I got all the fundamental design basics right. I definitely just need some more practise I think. I do feel I get better with each project I make.

When I say webdesigner as a different career, I'm referring to investing 100% in that and just knowing the basics of dev. Even if I were to invest more in webdesign now, I'm still first and foremost a dev and I'm not thinking of changing careers. 🙂

Collapse
 
mrothe570 profile image
Michael • Edited

Warehouse worker like I am right now.

It's the most difficult job I've ever had and if you've never worked a blue collar job you probably can't comprehend the pound of flesh that goes into the work. I know I didn't!

Collapse
 
tqbit profile image
tq-bit

I'm a consultant who learned to code on the job. I guess if I ever were anything else, I'd go for freelancing and, if time permits, part-time alpacca farmer. Perhaps full time some day. Seriously, those animals are the best

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

Collapse
 
garvitmotwani profile image
Garvit Motwani

Real Estate Broker or something like that maybe... 😂

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

Collapse
 
garvitmotwani profile image
Garvit Motwani

😂😂