DEV Community

Josh Yap
Josh Yap

Posted on

Data engineering portfolio projects?

Hey everyone!

There are TONS of examples out there for web development and software engineering portfolios, but are there are any notable data engineering examples for reference? I am already working as a junior data engineer, but I know that I need to do some projects to get my skills to the next level. I would really benefit from some inspiration!

I would imagine that a data engineering portfolio should showcase some experience in the following:

  • API usage
  • cron jobs
  • DAGs
  • data cleaning
  • data scraping
  • data visualization
  • ETL
  • git/version management
  • Python
  • SQL

Does anyone have any thoughts on things I should add/cut from the general list I came up with above? I would love to see any example portfolios or projects that may be floating around.

Cheers!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
inigogb profile image
BaronVonHex

I think your Portfolio ideas are correct and On-Point. I would change Python for Insert-your-Preferred-Data-Science-Languae i.e. Scala or R depending on your favorite language and stack.