DEV Community

Grant Yegge
Grant Yegge

Posted on • Updated on

Overcoming Childhood Struggles and Embracing a Career in Software Engineering

I’ve struggled with studying and grasping things quickly for as long as I can remember. As a kid, I just couldn’t sit still for hours on end, hitting the books or doing things that didn’t interest me. High school was tough; I barely scraped through my classes and even had to deal with a health scare during my senior year. I missed the last two months of school, which was a relief in some ways, but it made graduating on time a real challenge.

But even when school felt like a mountain I couldn’t climb, technology was my escape. I got into online gaming and tech early on, mostly because of my cousin, who was a huge influence on me. I looked up to him a lot, even if I had a funny way of showing it sometimes. My passion for tech allowed me to skip college and jump straight into a tech career. I didn’t bother with certifications; my learning came from diving in headfirst, getting hands-on experience, and being hungry to learn more.

Discovering a Passion for Programming

Programming has always fascinated me. The idea of coming up with an idea and turning it into something real that works is amazing. That’s why I’m writing this blog post today. I’ve always dreamed of becoming a software engineer. Despite tinkering with programming for years, I’ve never truly mastered it the way I wanted to.

A lot of this stems from my childhood struggles with studying. I’m constantly worried about failing a coding interview, not knowing key terminologies, and dealing with imposter syndrome. These fears, born out of my early experiences, have stuck with me and often held me back from fully committing to this career.

Taking the Plunge: My Commitment to Software Engineering

Today, I’m making a promise to myself: I’m going to become a software engineer. This journey requires mental toughness, a solid learning structure, and the determination to push past the fears that have been holding me back.

This isn’t just about picking up new skills; it’s about proving to myself that I can overcome my past struggles and build a successful career in software engineering.

A Message to Future Employers

To any future employers reading this, I want you to know that I’m ready to work hard and learn everything I need to succeed. My unconventional path has given me resilience, adaptability, and a relentless drive to achieve my goals. I’m excited to bring these qualities to your team and grow as a software engineer.

I truly believe that this career can transform my life and I hope to inspire others who have faced similar challenges. If you’ve battled with anxiety and self-doubt because of childhood experiences, I want you to know it’s never too late to chase your dreams and create a new path for yourself.

Looking Ahead: The Importance of Consistency

From this point forward, my goal is to stay consistent, no matter what doubts or fears come up. This blog will be my space to document the journey, reflect on the challenges, and celebrate the milestones.

Here’s to embracing the unknown, overcoming past fears, and stepping into a future filled with potential. My journey to becoming a software engineer starts now, and I’m ready for the challenge.


This post marks a big step for me—a declaration that I’m committed to a career in software engineering. Follow along as I navigate this path, share the lessons I learn, and celebrate the wins. Let’s face the future with determination and a willingness to learn together.

Top comments (0)