DEV Community

Cover image for Code Like DOOM Guy
Chig Beef
Chig Beef

Posted on

Code Like DOOM Guy

Code Is Not Heaven

To tell someone who is unmotivated that they need to be passionate about programming is like beating a dead horse with a stick (I think that's the saying).
The fact is, for a lot of people, coding isn't heaven, it's not their happy place. This could be many reasons, but generally, for those working day in and day out on the most obscure code bases, it's definitely demotivating.
I think you might know where this is going, but you need to start thinking about code as hell.

Waking Up In Hell

Maybe a month ago I played through the original DOOM from 1993. I enjoyed it a lot, and was able to complete all 4 episodes that came with my version of the game. The problem is, when I play action games as such, I usually take it slow and steady, I don't want to rush and get caught by a stray demon. If you've ever played DOOM you would know this isn't how you play DOOM.

Deep Into The Code

Have you ever been given a coding task and you are instantly taken back? Maybe it's so intense you're on the verge of anxiety, or fear. The world is full of bugs, but luckily you have your debugger.

Demons, Everywhere!

As your shotgun to an imp, you have to point your skills right into the face of the bug. There is no backseat to this game, you can't play DOOM slowly and carefully. In DOOM, you shouldn't fear the demons, but the demons should fear you. This mindset has helped my confidence in playing the game, and I think we should start using it for coding more.

Don't Fear Your Own Code

How are you going to get anywhere through your code if you're scared of your own bugs? No, you're the one with the debugger, the bugs don't have a de-developer-er. A lot of people who are new to programming, I see them fine dealing with all the imps in their code, but as soon as a cacodemon comes out of nowhere, they completely shut down. It's not a problem they know how to solve, and they get really discouraged by it. Should they use the shotgun? Or should they blast it with the rocket launcher? The DOOM guy wouldn't stop to think what gun he should use, it's a demon, it needs killing, use whatever. If the gun you use wasn't that effective, keep that in mind for the next time you spot a cacodemon.

Sometimes, You Need The BFG

I remember when I first encountered an arch-vile. I had no idea how to deal with one, but I had watched videos about them so I knew a bit about their attacks, and that they had high health. This was a bug I had no idea how to fix. Luckily, I had people around me that could help me and point me on the right track. In DOOM, this is the BFG, the fail-safe to keep you alive. In coding, you should try to have someone to talk to that can help you if you really get stuck. The fact is, there are some problems we can't solve on our own, and it's definitely good to need help.

Megasphere Dopamine

Isn't it great to find a good amount of health after a tough battle? Especially when that gets you really low. Maybe you finished a 3D renderer, and you've got your spinning cube. Maybe you centered that div, and that text is just beautiful. Hell may be hostile, but don't worry, you have overcome!
Hopefully there isn't a sequel to my coding problems though...

Top comments (0)