DEV Community

Cristian Velasquez Ramos
Cristian Velasquez Ramos

Posted on • Originally published at cvr.im

Invest in your home office

Working from home the past couple of years (especially this one) has really made me glad that I invested in my home office. It's the place I spend the majority of my day in. It's the place I do my thinking, my planning, and my working.

It's also the place where my health can quickly deteriorate to a point of almost no return. I wonder how many people have gained/lost an unexpected amount of weight this year?

As a developer not only is that a concern, but so is the health of my wrist and hands. If I lose that, my career becomes much harder to pursue.

So the way I invested was by doing three things:

  1. I bought an adjustable standing desk from ikea.
  2. I bought an ergonomic mouse from logitech
  3. I bought a treadmill you can put under the standing desk from lifespan

I actually got the treadmill idea from a streamer who bought it to stay healthy while grinding in Classic WoW. He wanted to get Rank 14, a prestigious title that requires playing for around 14 hours a day for at least 3 months

With this, my home office life has been really great. I'm able to stay healthy while I work and preserve my body for when I retire (hopefully early ๐Ÿ˜Œ).

Thereโ€™s more Iโ€™d like to do as well. Iโ€™ve got plans on buying more plants since itโ€™s apparently really good for you.

The next big save would be for an ergonomic chair, since those set you back quite a bit.

Try not to be stingy with your health, we've only got one body after all.

Top comments (0)