DEV Community

Gorjes4444
Gorjes4444

Posted on

Embracing Neovim: Navigating Configuration Challenges and Seeking Guidance

Hey everyone,

I'm completely new to the world of Neovim and, to be honest, to programming in general. I'm really excited to join this community and learn how to use this amazing editor, but I'm facing some challenges with the setup. If there's a kind and patient soul out there willing to help a newbie like me, that would be incredible! 😩

Here's where I'm at: I've got Neovim installed on Windows, and I've set up my environment as shown in the attached image (init.lua).

Image description

Image description

I'm using LSP-Zero for my setup (https://github.com/VonHeikemen/lsp-zero.nvim). My main issue is that I'm trying to configure the "cmp" plugin to show me auto-completion options using words from the same buffer.

I've read through the "cmp" documentation, and I know that I need to add some code like this:

lua
Copy code
-- Make sure you set up cmp after lsp-zero
local cmp = require('cmp')

cmp.setup({
sources = {
{name = 'nvim_lsp'},
{name = 'buffer'},
}
})
However, this is where I'm getting stuck. I'm not sure exactly where I should add this code. Should it go in the init.lua file, or is there some other specific configuration file? As you can see, I'm quite new to this, and I'm trying to wrap my head around all these concepts.

I appreciate in advance anyone willing to lend me a hand and provide guidance. I'm excited to learn and be a part of this community!

Thank you so much!

Top comments (0)