DEV Community

John Napiorkowski
John Napiorkowski

Posted on • Updated on

Worst Interview Experiences

Howdy all,

I'm doing a research project into how IT interviewing is run nowadays, compared to say 20 years ago. I want to hear about all the worst things that you've experienced while interviewing for jobs. Thanks!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
xenoterracide profile image
Caleb Cushing • Edited

Literally anyone that requires me to test my skills on something that doesn't allow me to use google, requires some form of camera tracking to make sure I don't change screens. These same people test you over APIs that haven't been best practice for 15-20 years. APIs I would never use in production. APIs that when I was the interviewer I rejected the candidate for using. Actually if I find out I'm being put through any kind of a timed test I kindly decline. I have anxiety, it does not make me faster, it makes me dumber (turns out that's what cortisol does). I am not in high school, ever detail is not pounded into my brain anymore. Google is not the answer to everything, but it is to all of these questions. Really just having access to the API docs via a good IDE would usually be enough to deal with the untimed parts.

as an interviewer I'd rather not test you on writing code, and when I do it's over something I can do in an hour (write a todo app). Actually, I test over something much easier, show me you can transform a list into another list. I don't even check compiling, half the people can't do that on a whiteboard. I'd rather you show me your github, let me see what you've worked on outside of work, even if it's a toy just for the interviewing process. We need to normalize having a portfolio in this industry.

Collapse
 
smonff profile image
🌌 Sébastien Feugère ☔

Are you interested in the interviewer point of view, candidate or both?