DEV Community

Cover image for 30-day Learning Challenge: Day 2— Learning AWS S3
Kervyn
Kervyn

Posted on

30-day Learning Challenge: Day 2— Learning AWS S3

Welcome back to the learning challenge that I’ve set out for myself, where I aim to document something new that I’ve learnt every single day for 30 days!

Today, I decided to take a short break from learning Figma from my day 1 adventures, and have engaged in some work on AWS.

For my tasks today:

  • Work with uploaded files in an S3 bucket that would then be utilised in a script that I had written on my local machine few weeks prior.
  • Learn how to implement S3 bucket object creation triggers for my Lambda functions. Overall, an exciting day!

This was my first time experimenting with accessing S3 via Javascript, and I had quite a bit of looking up to do. After searching online, and going down the dreaded rabbit hole of AWS documentation, I finally got it to work through the use of the AWS SDK, and the folks over on StackOverflow (thanks guys).

Learning links

Here are some of the links that helped me get this done, in case you happen to be on the same stumbling block!

Accessing S3 buckets in Javascript (JS)

  1. https://stackoverflow.com/questions/62606136/how-to-access-s3-bucket-through-javascript
  2. https://stackoverflow.com/questions/27299139/read-file-from-aws-s3-bucket-using-node-fs
  3. https://docs.aws.amazon.com/sdk-for-javascript/v2/developer-guide/s3-examples.html

Creating specific S3 bucket event triggers for Lambda functions

1.https://docs.aws.amazon.com/AmazonS3/latest/userguide/object-keys.html#:%7E:text=and%20other%20APIs.-,Safe%20characters,-The%20following%20character

In the upcoming days, weeks and months, I hope to get even more comfortable with AWS and the different services it provides. Personally, after experimenting with different learning methods, I find that knowledge still sticks the best through trying our hand and attempting a practical. Nothing beats practicing the skill by actually utilising it for your code, work or internship, as there’s only so much know-how you can gain from purely reading about what AWS provides.

Drop a comment if you’d like to hop on a similar journey, and feel free to share with me what your goals are and who knows, we could get started on something together in the foreseeable future!

Have a great day ahead!

Top comments (0)