DEV Community

Cover image for Portfolio Project Blog post
mariacelin oshiomah
mariacelin oshiomah

Posted on

Portfolio Project Blog post

Blog Post: Reflecting on my portfolio Project Journey
Introduction: Ecommerce page
For my final portfolio project, I build an ecommerce page .The project aims to provide a fully functional online shopping
Image description platform with features like product listing, user authentication, shopping cart, checkout process, and more. It is built using modern web development technologies and follows best practices for scalability, security, and maintainability.
When building the e-commerce page, my personal focus was on delivering a smooth user experience while ensuring scalability and performance. Here are the key areas I concentrated on:

  1. User Experience (UX): I prioritized creating an intuitive interface, ensuring that the navigation was seamless and product information was clear. The goal was to reduce friction in the shopping process, from product browsing to checkout.
  2. Responsive Design: Given the wide range of devices customers use, I focused on making the e-commerce page responsive, ensuring it worked well on both mobile and desktop platforms.
  3. Security:Since e-commerce involves handling sensitive data, including payment information, I placed a strong emphasis on secure communication and data handling practices, such as HTTPS and data encryption. By balancing these elements, I aimed to create a reliable and user-friendly e-commerce platform that can grow with user demand. Technologies Used The project leverages the following technologies: Client Side (Front End): React.js styled with Bootstrap ,used the user interface Axios for making API requests Server Side (Back End):Node.js for the server environment Express.js as the web application framework Database:MongoDB for the database Mongoose for object modeling JSON Web Tokens (JWT) for user authentication Deployment: vercel for deployment and hosting External Services: Payment Gateway API (e.g.braintree or PayPal). Email Service API (e.g., SendGrid) I gained a lot of knowledge and confidence while building this full stack application,I found lots of rest api that I had to learn first . About Me I’m a passionate developer who is eager to learn new things. Having completed this project, I’m eager to continue learning and refining my skills in both software engineering .

Top comments (0)