DEV Community

Cover image for Tired of turning Wifi/Bluetooth/Data off in Settings? (iPhone)
Matej Minárik
Matej Minárik

Posted on

Tired of turning Wifi/Bluetooth/Data off in Settings? (iPhone)

Every day before going to bed, I take my phone, go to Settings and turn Wifi, Bluetooth and Data off. There are two reasons why I'm doing this:

  1. I don't want my phone to search and receive any additional (other than GSM) frequencies while I'm sleeping.
  2. I don't want to hear all the notifications coming in right after the alarm wakes me up.

Since I'm "programmer-lazy" person, I was searching for quite some time for a solution and I stumbled upon the not-so-new Shortcuts app and set this one up:

Shorcut Configuration

My life is once again so much easier and efficient!

Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
afrazs profile image
afrazs

But iPhone give you straight forward buttons on a popup to disable all of these? Just swipe up from bottom ( swipe down from right of the notch incase of X+) and do all these? Isn't that easy? or you're still on iPhone 3?

Collapse
 
math3v profile image
Matej Minárik

Hey, thanks for your comment!

The buttons in the "Control Centre" only "greys-out" the particular setting which does not really turn it off. For bluetooth, it keeps your Watch connected even when "turned off" and for Wifi, it automatically connects you back the next day (after your alarm goes off).

Besides that, I like that clicking one Shortcut button really turn 3 things off. :)