DEV Community

Mijail Rondón
Mijail Rondón

Posted on

Good vs Evil: love for Microsoft

From my early years, I were convinced about the free software philosophy (which I'm still attached to) and back then Microsoft was the devil against the software freedom, and everything around Microsoft was a thing I learned to hate like in a movie, was the empire against the republic.

It's important to say that at that moment, I was very young and the first generation on my family to be close to computers and the internet. And to share was a principle for my family and, I took very personally the fight of the good vs the evil.

Is well known that all the power of Microsoft were used against the practices of building and sharing software collaboratively, but then something changes suddenly, with the "Microsoft ❤️ Linux", with that announcement many discussions with my friend's circle were around speculations about the real intentions of Microsoft with this change, was very hard to imagine good intentions after many years of calling free software an abomination, and use a heart emoji to express that.

Microsoft loves Linux

We were waiting for a mistake from Microsoft to turn back and expose the real intention, and then, was announced one of the most strategical moves from Microsoft to own the open-source, and it was the acquisition of Github, at that moment and now, the larger repository of open source software and the social network to share code. I entered in panic, imagining some legal move to avoid any new contributions or licensing over the shared code and so on.

Palpatine Star Wars

And the time goes by, but I can't see any clue. All I can see is that many of the current technologies that I use (languages, libraries, tools...) are in some way involved with or supported by Microsoft.

Now seems like I was pulled to the dark side or something, but Microsoft managed to make me love Microsoft.

Top comments (0)