DEV Community

Cover image for Why NextSketch?
Mohammed for NextSketch

Posted on • Updated on

Why NextSketch?

Hello!

I thought I'd write a bit about why NextSketch helps me and can help you as well in creating diagrams to use. Personally over the course of my projects, I've always used things like Pen & Paper, Mindomo, or just MS Paint and never thought too much of it.

But time after time, it started breaking my flow. You can't edit a rendered image in Paint, switching between browser-based tools and IDEs isn't cool, and Pen & Paper, well, that can just descend into madness when things grow.

So eventually, this followed me to Editor4J. Editor4J was and is, one of my biggest projects. With the architecture more complex than ever, pen and paper became a bottleneck in development.

So I decided I had enough, no longer would I be oppressed by such tooling! NextSketch is a (commercial!) plugin for all IntelliJ-based IDEs that lets you create diagrams with Nodes and Links. I've been working on it for 2 months and it's now available on the JetBrains Marketplace!

The whole diagramming experience is integrated into the IDE and sketches can be easily stored in the project folder. It's an invaluable tool for me especially when designing GUI architecture. I hope you enjoy using NextSketch as much as I did working on it!

Check it out at https://plugins.jetbrains.com/plugin/19963-nextsketch and let me know what you think!

Have fun!

Top comments (0)