DEV Community

Pavel Belokon
Pavel Belokon

Posted on

First Hacktoberfest PR

In the first days of October, I participated in my first Hacktoberfest. The primary objective of this event is to contribute to open-source projects and have your pull requests (PRs) approved and merged.

For me, it has been a learning experience. Initially, I aimed to tackle a small issue, but it took quite some time to find a one I can do to get familiar with contributing. However, I was pleased to see the high level of activity among all participants. As I complete my PR, I plan to take on more challenging tasks to further my learning.

For my initial contribution I worked on the Would-You-Bot Website repository. On issue 48. This issue involved creating a Contribution Guidelines document to help new contributors understand how to get involved with the project.

You can find my PR here

To complete this task, I first reviewed the project's files to locate any useful issue/PR templates and guidelines that new contributors might not be aware of. I added them as links within the document to ensure easy access in one place. Additionally, I took inspiration from how other projects structured their contribution guidelines.Dominik K, the code owner, provided valuable feedback for improving the document.

I must admit, seeing my work integrated into someone else's project is an incredible feeling! Now, I'm looking to discover more projects to contribute to.

Top comments (0)