DEV Community

Pavel Belokon
Pavel Belokon

Posted on

Writing a new feature

This week, I worked on enhancing our classmates' projects. Specifically, my task was to add a -c --config option for reading TOML config files to this project.

I began by creating an issue, followed by drafting a PR. I gradually made incremental changes to implement various features. I also asked the project owner for feedback and adjusted my PR accordingly.

I enjoyed working with Git and even learned how to cherry-pick commits from different branches. The only issue I encountered was forgetting to switch from the main branch. Consequently, I had to create a new branch, revert changes on the main branch, switch to the issue branch, and cherry-pick the changes there.

Overall I enjoyed using git and eager to learn more about different things I can do with it.

Top comments (0)