DEV Community

Pavel Belokon
Pavel Belokon

Posted on

Writing my first PR for release 0.2

For the first pull request (PR) of this release, I decided to work on the Meilisearch Python branch, specifically on issue 884.

This issue was one of many, but for different languages. I chose Python because I am somewhat familiar with it, and I am curious about what other people would write for this issue in different languages so I will wait look for new PR'S.

What I had to do was create a snapshot method that would return information about a task to track the progress of an asynchronous process. I added a config path, created a new entry with the key create_snapshot_1:, and modeled a test based on a similar test.

My pull request was reviewed and is considered approved; it is awaiting merge since the snapshot feature has to be merged first.

I think this PR was, so far, the best experience I've had since Paul Sanders was very detailed and helpful in reviewing my work and assisting me. I felt really welcome in this repository.

It was a first for me to contribute to a project where I had to use tests to verify my work and where I had to implement not only some functionality but also try to test it. Even though I modeled the test, I really enjoyed the experience. Also, it was the first time I used Codespaces; this project had them set up, and I found it extremely useful because I didn't have to set anything up. I will probably try to use them for BukuRain. PR

To be honest, I find that it still takes me a long time to find places to contribute. I am still looking for two repositories to contribute to in this release since I don't want it to be like I did in Hacktoberfest, where sometimes I just did things to get them done ☹️. I'm trying to avoid those scenarios and grow as a person.

Top comments (0)