DEV Community

ProcrastinatingMage
ProcrastinatingMage

Posted on • Updated on

Blog 2: Blog Direction

Hey there and welcome!

I am the procrastinating Mage and for todays blog I will talk about what I did since Blog 1 was published, as well as what you can expect for the future blogs.

What has changed?

The past two weeks I have merely been trying to get the hang of Unreal Engine 5 with C++. Not a simple task due to Unreal Engines complexity and my inexperience, but even then I shall prevail and show off cool things in future blogs.

What can we expect for future blogs?

I write these Blogs to document my progress in various fields of game development:

  • Code
  • 3D Art
  • Level Design
  • Visual Effects
  • 2D Art
  • Music

Most of the time I will be working on my programming skills, as such, it will probably be included every blog. But code will not be the only thing I will need on my journey, that is why there will be entries where I also write, for example, about level design. I won't limit Blogs to only one field, so that more people can check out my progress, it is also a nice change of pace.

In the future Blogs I would categorize different parts with headings:

CODE

=> Code stuff

3D Art

=> Art stuff

this way people can quickly find the thing they're interested in the most.

What can we expect for Blog 3?

For Blog 3 I finally want to start making cool things, nothing major though. I'm leaning towards the idea of a small Roguelike, with a bunch of random and hilarious ideas that come to mind over time. This way I can practice coding a variety of things all in one project.

In short: A crazy Roguelike with many different systems

I won't plan anything ambiguous for it, simply because this (probably) won't turn into a proper game but a mess. A mess that will give me a lot of experience in many different aspects of game development.

A step towards a bigger goal.

This is all for Blog 2,
thank you for reading and have a nice day!

[Blog 3 estimate: 3 weeks]

Top comments (0)