DEV Community

Rohan Kaicker
Rohan Kaicker

Posted on • Updated on

OSD600 Blog #1

Hey Everyone!

My name's Rohan, and I recently just finished up my 4th semester at Seneca College as a Computer Programming & Analysis student. I'm actually currently working as a co-op student, but I enrolled in this course because I really did not want to miss the chance to take this before I graduate.

I think my first real exposure to Open Source was maybe 5-7 years ago, when I had a really old Android phone (it must have been a Nexus 5). Google stopped providing the phone with updates just 2 years after release,even though the hardware was just fine. This is when I learned of various open source "custom rom" projects, with the big one being CyanogenMod (now known as LineageOS).

I remember thinking it was amazing that these groups of people all over the world were working together towards a common goal of keeping their phones supported by themselves, without relying on the manufacturers. The amount of e-waste that was probably generated due to how disposable we treated phones is probably massive, and this aimed to tackle that.

This semester, I really wanted to learn how exactly coding works when you are working with large groups of people and a large code base, as up until now I've mainly just been coding on my own projects, which have only topped out at probably a few thousand lines of code. I'd also like get a more solid understanding of Git, as currently I only know the basics.

The trending repo I looked at was the Insomnia app repo: https://github.com/Kong/insomnia.

I chose this because I did not know that there were tools like this, as last semester I would be using curL commands in the terminal for interacting with REST APIs.

Top comments (0)