DEV Community

Cover image for Editor4J 2022.4: The lost release :)
Mohammed
Mohammed

Posted on • Updated on

Editor4J 2022.4: The lost release :)

Hello!

Its been a while since I've done anything Editor4J related. So I thought I'd dust off the old code base, open the old project and talk about version 2022.4.

A while back I made a 2022.4 release that adds some cool stuff like

  • Fixing issues regarding File I/O
  • New svg icons for the languages
  • Persistence, the editor remembers opened files and reloads them
  • A copy path feature CTRL-W
  • An improved error logging system
  • UI refinements
  • Support for Lua
  • Optional OpenGL acceleration (requires restart)
  • Unsaved file warning
  • Optional Embedded MenuBar (requires restart)

to the editor. I kinda forgot to tell anyone since I was pretty busy.😅

I wish I had time to work on Editor4J to really implement the courses feature but alas I don’t find myself with much time these days. Hopefully that’ll change in the future.

Anyway, try it out and have fun!

https://github.com/skyloft7/Editor4J-new

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
cicirello profile image
Vincent A. Cicirello

Is it on GitHub? Can you add a link to the repository?

Collapse
 
skyloft7 profile image
Mohammed • Edited

No problem mate, github.com/skyloft7/Editor4J-new

It needs to be run with a JVM already installed, one of these days I'll make a decent installer ;)

Collapse
 
cicirello profile image
Vincent A. Cicirello

If it is for Java, then a pre-req that a JVM is installed is certainly reasonable. In theory your users should have that anyway.