DEV Community

Cover image for Building My Own Authentication Boss: Go Learning Adventure
Durgesh Pandey
Durgesh Pandey

Posted on • Updated on

Building My Own Authentication Boss: Go Learning Adventure

I'm crafting a streamlined authentication solution to eliminate the hassle of managing user logins and security for your applications. Instead of grappling with the complexities of password hashing, token generation, and session management, I'm building a tool to handle all that for you.

Imagine having a dedicated security expert on your development team, without the hefty salary. That's essentially what I'm aiming for. This service will be your go-to solution for ensuring secure user access to your application.

You'll be able to focus on building core features while I handle the authentication backbone. It's like having a pre-built engine for your car - you just need to focus on the body and interior.

My goal is to create a service that is as easy to implement as it is robust in security.

How it'll Work

To build this speedy auth service, I'm leveraging the power of Go Fiber. Its performance and ease of use make it the perfect fit for handling the expected load of authentication requests. For storing user data and authentication metadata, I've chosen MongoDB. Its flexible document structure is ideal for managing user information efficiently.

To streamline deployment and management, I'll be containerizing the application using Docker. This will ensure portability and ease of integration into different environments.

To provide a user-friendly interface for managing users and settings, I'm developing an admin dashboard using SvelteKit. This will offer a sleek and intuitive experience for administrators.

To bolster security, I'll be employing robust cryptographic techniques. Password hashing will be handled using bcrypt, ensuring that even if a database is compromised, passwords remain protected. For secure token-based authentication, I'll implement JWTs (JSON Web Tokens). To enhance flexibility, I'm considering integrating OAuth2 for external authentication providers.

I'm excited to see how this project unfolds. By streamlining the authentication process, I hope to create a tool that significantly boosts developer productivity.

Imagine spending less time on security and more time building amazing features. That's the goal!

I'll be sharing updates on my progress, so stay tuned for more insights into this project.

Top comments (0)