DEV Community

Cover image for Scaffolding API projects easily with oak-routing-ctrl
Khang Dinh
Khang Dinh

Posted on

Scaffolding API projects easily with oak-routing-ctrl

Greetings to Deno / TypeScript / JavaScript community!

Today I'd love to introduce a DevTool: oak-routing-ctrl

Now if you read the link above & still are unsure what this tool does, then I hope this article may help πŸ˜€

Let's say you:

  1. wanna build a microservice that provides a set of API to your consumers
  2. chose the oak framework as your HTTP middleware library
  3. do not want to write repeated routing code for all your API endpoints

Then oak-routing-ctrl might be worth a try.

Here is what's in the box:

1. TypeScript Decorators

First we have a set of TypeScript Decorators (conforming to TC39 proposal) that makes it straightforward to declare API endpoints & assign it to a handler function in a few lines of code:

// MyController.ts

import { Controller, Get } from "@dklab/oak-routing-ctrl@0.7.4";

@Controller()
export class MyController {
  @Get()
  doSomething() {
    return "hello, dev.to";
  }
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

2. An initiation helper function

Now to actually spin up an HTTP server, we'll need to initiate the server instance e.g. with the middleware oak, and glue it up with the API route handler function we wrote above. Of course it can be in the same file, or a different file, up to your flavour. Here we use a different file:

// main.ts

import { Application } from "@oak/oak@16.1.0";
import { useOakServer } from "@dklab/oak-routing-ctrl@0.7.4";
import { MyController } from "./MyController.ts";

const app = new Application();
useOakServer(app, [MyController]);
await app.listen({ port: 1993 });
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

The example code so far assumes we're on Deno runtime. But heads up: both oak and oak-routing-ctrl fully support other runtimes (Bun, Cloudflare Workers, and Node.js).

With Deno assumed, let's start our server up:

deno run --allow-env --allow-net main.ts
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

And send a test cURL:

curl localhost:1993
# prints: hello, dev.to
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

That was the most simple form of it. More complex examples are available in the README.

Looking forward...

Up to this point, you may wonder what's so special about this library. I, as the author, am of course biased, but if you must know: nope, it's indeed "just another DevTool". I'm not taking pride in its superb performance or any underlying rocket science, I do appreciate the level of care and seriousness I myself put in while developing it. Before it reaches the "relatively stable" version of 0.7.4 (at which time I write this blog post), it went through a valley of alpha releases:

screenshot of the oak-routing-ctrl library on its JavaScript Registry page

I don't intend to put much more logic in it from this point on. After using it on production for a while, I'll bump it to 1.0.0. It's released under MIT & anyone can contribute or even fork their own development directions.

What I commit to is the continuous maintenance of this library. It is used on production for my own and my employer's web-scale products, thereby giving me "unfair incentives" to keep it sane & performant.

If you use it for your work, I would really love to hear your thoughts and suggestions, i.e. what you like, what you don't like. A GitHub Star, or a constructive feedback issue, to me is equally valuable.

If I still have you on this line, it means my English skill is not any more rusty than my coding skill ;) and it means the world to me (πŸ˜€). If you feel I missed something, or said something contrary to your knowledge, please feel free to place your questions in the comment section down below. Discussing tech topics is the best way for everyone to learn!

Thank you for your time on this blog post. Have a blast in what you're doing, wherever you are 🍻

Top comments (0)