DEV Community

Tony Metzidis
Tony Metzidis

Posted on

Setting for "Bob made a new post..." notification?

Is there a setting to disable this notification type?

Image description

Here are the settings that I have available ...

Image description

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
tonymet profile image
Tony Metzidis

@michaeltharrington any guidance? your posts seem to dominate my notifications

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Hey Tony! Thanks for the ping and sorry to hear about the issue you're running into.

You're right that those 2 settings under the General notifications area are the only levers you have to adjust any notifications that appear here.

Saying that, it does seem like we should provide more options. To be clear, you're hoping for an option like the following, correct?

Send notifications when someone I'm following posts an article

I'm thinking we could also potentially have:

Send notifications when an organization I'm following posts an article

Notably, we previously had the intention of allowing folks the option to mute other users, which would be a separate mechanic from the block feature described here. In combination with the notification options described above, mute would allow for some more fine-tuning... for instance, if you wanted to follow an org (like the DEV Team) but mute a noisy individual on it (like myself 😅) you'd have that option. It'd be a bit different from block because I'd still have the ability to comment on your posts. All this said, I think we would wanna firtst start with the notifications mentioned above.

In any case, I'm going to bring your issue up with the team and see if there's something we can do in this regard. If you have other ideas about how we should go about solving this one, feel free to let me know. I'll be happy to pass them on and help advocate.

Collapse
 
tonymet profile image
Tony Metzidis

thanks for giving it some thought. those options would help. from my perspective I see the feed as the place for new posts and notifications for replies/tags/engagement.

Collapse
 
tonymet profile image
Tony Metzidis

do you know if there are any options i have to improve signal/noise on notifications? i can start unfollowing people/ topics but that would reduce the content I get.

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Hey Tony! I'm sorry we've not made any progress here. I've just brought this back up with the team and am advocating for a change to give you and others more control — here's a similar request btw if you'd like to upvote or comment on it.

In the meantime, we don't have a great solution. If you really don't want to see notifications from folks, unfortunately unfollowing them is the only option we currently have.

I've brought this up and asked the team, so if someone chimes in with a different response, I'll hit you back and let you know.

Again though, I'll keep advocating for more notification controls and see if we might be able to make updates here soon. Thanks!

Thread Thread
 
tonymet profile image
Tony Metzidis

thanks for keeping it on the radar and for sharing that feature request . Yep he described the request perfectly. I'll continue to support that request.

I appreciate you getting back to me.

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

No probs, Tony, and thank you for the reminder! Speaking with the team, I know we're down with this addition, so hopefully we can implement it soon.