DEV Community

Vehbi Sinan Tunalioglu
Vehbi Sinan Tunalioglu

Posted on • Originally published at thenegation.com

Your package.json as a Credit Account

It is quite easy to install a new npm package into your project. I go one step further, and insist on that actually it is too easy.

Every dependency in your project is like an expense on your credit account. And that is not good if this credit account is not managed properly.

Economic Analogy

Every codebase is an economic artifact, whether it has some monetary or non-monetary value. We invest our resources in a codebase with an expectation of return on this investment.

Sometimes, we do not have all the resources to build everything from scratch. We use libraries, frameworks, and tools to speed up the development process and deliver some value.

It is like running business on credit: If you do not have enough capital, you simple borrow it to launch or grow your business. If things go well, you will have enough revenue to pay back the borrowed capital. If things go wrong, you will keep on borrowing until you are bankrupt.

The outcome usually depends on the quality of the investment you make with the borrowed capital.

In the same way, every dependency in your project is like borrowing some capital and making an investment with it.

Pick Your Dependencies Wisely

1.5GB of node_modules folder with over 100K JavaScript and TypeScript files for a relatively small SPA? Patch version update that breaks the whole app on a colleague’s machine? 10 minutes of CI/CD pipeline just to install dependencies? Still managing dependencies which were only installed as peer dependencies of a package we dropped 1 year ago? Being stuck at a certain version of a package for over 9 months because the upgrade causes a cascade of breaking changes or Node.js “heap out of memory error” which is only experienced by a few random developers around the globe who can not help reproducing it at all? I have seen them all and more.

No, thanks…

I will not rant more about the JavaScript ecosystem. At the danger of being confused with their grumpy uncle by the younger developers, I will just say that most of the problems are inherent to the language and ecosystem, and no tooling can solve it.

It is what it is. After being badly hurt every other dependency upgrade, I have decided that I am going to treat package.json as a credit account.

For example, I used to add day.js to dependencies the moment when I need to work with dates, which is almost in every project. I know, Date is a pain to work with, but nowadays I prefer to use Date instead of day.js if the use-case is simple or infrequent.

I used to add react-icons to dependencies to have access to the universe of all icons ever imagined and created. But now, I prefer to use SVGs or inline SVGs if I do not need many icons.

Recently, I have dropped next-auth (now Auth.js) in favour of a handcrafted authentication solution. Indeed, I dropped the adapter for Auth.js as well. The outcome was quite funny (not): I have dropped 2 libraries from my dependencies and ended up removing more code than I added in that PR. Note that this is not always the case. It is just that Auth.js does not have a decent abstraction and lacks a good implementation (and yes, even the upcoming v5).

The opposite is also true. I have decided to add purify-ts to my dependencies on all of my TypeScript projects. It is a great library with zero dependencies that helps me to write better TypeScript code. It single-handedly solves many control-flow problems and decreases the complexity (a.k.a. entropy) of my codebase.

Embracing Idiosyncrasies

I enjoy having skin in the game. For smaller projects, I set a limit of 10 dependencies. For each additional dependency beyond this threshold, I plan to make a donation to a charity, and maybe, whose cause I fundamentally oppose.

I understand and embrace the idea that every project is different and has its own idiosyncrasies. I am not saying that you should drop all your dependencies and write everything from scratch. I am just saying that you should be aware of the cost of every dependency you add to your project.

Top comments (0)