DEV Community

acode123
acode123

Posted on

Our Wonderful Planet - Earth Day Competition

This is a submission for Frontend Challenge v24.04.17, CSS Art: Earth Day.

Inspiration

After landing on the moon in 1969, Neil Armstrong famously stated that "looking back at earth from the moon" made him realise the "utmost importance of protecting our planet Earth".

This inspired me to create a simple animation that emphasizes the small size of the Earth and the importance of protecting it.

Demo

This animation, while simple, highlights perfectly the point Neil Armstrong made after 1969 by showing how small of a dot earth is in the vastness of space.

Please hover over the canvas to zoom into earth.

Journey

I got the idea for this project after attending a seminar about space. The seminar made me realize the fragility of our planet and how we must work towards protecting it. It got me thinking about how important it is for everyone to understand the significance of protecting Mother Earth.

I wish there was a way to make people feel the importance of caring for our planet. That's when I came up with the idea for this project, and I hope it can make a positive impact in raising awareness about environmental issues.

Top comments (0)