DEV Community

Cover image for My Time with Moja Global for Google Season Of Documentation
Amarachi Iheanacho
Amarachi Iheanacho

Posted on

My Time with Moja Global for Google Season Of Documentation

Working with Moja Global for Google Season of Documentation 2022 has been and continues to be an exciting ride. Creating documentation for moja global gave me a new perspective on important concepts like climate change, the effects of climate change on our environment, and, more importantly, how we as a society can mitigate those effects. Although understanding, breaking down, and relaying these concepts have not been the most straightforward tasks, it certainly has been informative and fun.

I was offered the role of "Technical Writer 2", which meant that I was tasked with creating the Full Lands INtegration Tool (FLINT) handbook and credible case studies on both FLINT and the Generic Carbon Budget Model (GCBM). I am also tasked with creating documentation for the "Understanding FLINT" section of the official moja global documentation.

During the first week of settling down, I had an onboarding call with my mentor Harsh Mishra who gave me insights on how to curate content for the moja global documentation. Breaking my tasks into smaller tasks, Harsh advised me on how to approach these tasks not to feel overwhelmed. This hack motivated me greatly to start creating technical content. Unfortunately, I fell ill and was asked to take a break.

For the next two weeks, week two and week three, I studied FLINT and GCBM resources. I used these resources' knowledge to create a FLINT handbook structure. This structure creation process started with a high-level understanding of what the FLINT handbook should cover and ended with creating the FLINT handbook table of contents. Next, I completed a case study describing the natural and anthropogenic effects of disturbances on our forests and how we can use the GCBM tool to assess and report these disturbance effects accurately.

I worked on creating chapters 2 and 3 of the FLINT handbook through weeks 4 and 5. Chapter 2 discussed what FLINT is and, more importantly, the different modules FLINT uses to describe processes that drive carbon changes in a landscape. Chapter 3 discusses GCBM, the data required for the GCBM to simulate carbon flows, and, more importantly, how to conclude from the output that the GCBM gifts us.

Next, I worked on chapter one of the FLINT handbook. This chapter handles fundamental concepts like stocks, flows, states and transitions. This chapter also introduces the reader to organizations that significantly impact global decisions on the war against climate change. It aims to ease the reader into understanding the FLINT handbook.

In the coming months, I will work on finishing the FLINT handbook, creating credible documentation for the understanding FLINT section of the moja global official documentation, and finally, case studies on climate change mitigation.

Finally, I want to thank moja global for this life-changing opportunity to learn and grow as a professional.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
heymich profile image
Michael Hungbo

I wish you the best, Amarachi!