DEV Community

Get Data From DynamoDB Using AWS SDK (Go) - The Cloud Resume Challenge Series (Part 15)

Hey cloud engineering friends!

Over the past weeks I've been completing the cloud resume challenge. It's a free challenge started by AWS hero Forest Brazeal to help people get into the cloud by doing a hands-on project. Original announcement post here.

The challenge is to create an online resume with a view counter, this video is the last piece of the puzzle for the view counter, by getting the view count out of my DynamoDB database and returning it as part of an AWS Lambda function that's set up as a REST/HTTP API.

As a bonus, I also go through how to set up AWS SAM with local invocation, so that you can test your lambda locally, by passing in AWS credentials using aws-vault, which involves a little bit of Docker, too.

If you're thinking getting into cloud I do really recommend you check out the cloud resume challenge as a place to start!


Hey! 👋 If we haven't met, let me introduce myself, I'm Lou, and I created Open Up The Cloud to help you get your start, and grow your career in cloud 🚀.

If you're interested in cloud, the best way to keep up-to-date with news, and everything I publish is via the monthly cloud newsletter. And find Open Up The Cloud on YouTube, Twitter, Instagram... wherever you like hang out! 😄

Top comments (0)