DEV Community

dbelokon
dbelokon

Posted on

Wrapping up Video Feeds for Telescope!

I would like to write that I finished the feed processing for videos in Telescope!🌈😎

I divided the feature in two PRs, PR #2581 and PR #2596. The first PR handles the changes for the backend and API, while the other PR handles the changes in the frontend.

One thing I learned is that, it is better to modify what you currently have to improve, rather than creating something from scratch when adding a feature, because the maintenance burden is a really important factor to considerπŸ’‘.

I am glad that I submitted a draft at the start, because Dave'sπŸ±β€πŸ‘€πŸ±β€πŸ advice on how to implement this really helped to sort out several doubts I had over my code. I am so grateful for Dave's help and advice😊.

Although it doesn't seem like a lot of code, I believe that I worked on this for well over a weekπŸ₯΅, doing research to implement the feature, as well as consulting it with the maintainers at Telescope to know about their opinions regarding my progress. Even if the feature is a small part of a more complex system, I am proud that I was able to contribute to this, regardless of the size of it.🀩

Top comments (0)