DEV Community

Carlos Estrada
Carlos Estrada

Posted on

January in one doc

I want to take sometime to recap everything that I did in the past month.

New things I do/learn

This were the main things that i did this month.

  • Frontend mentor challenges
  • Tutorial of mysql
  • Datalemur (SQL) Challenges
  • Personal projects
  • Others

Frontend mentor challenges

I spend sometime improving my frontend skills, specially with tailwind css and vue js.
The list of projects of this month were:

  • Blog Preview card
  • QR Component
  • NFT Component
  • Newsletter sign-up
  • Clipboard landing page
  • Advice generator app

Tutorial of mysql

In this month I did a samll amount of tutorial regarding sql, more specific mysql.
Some of the tutorial where:

  • How to get the user in mysql
  • How to get a list of tables using the information schema
  • Get all views inside a mysql database

Datalemur (SQL) Challenges

I really want to practice some sql for improving my skills in this area.
The datalemur challenges are really interesting I'm right now just doing
easy level stuff, however I can start to adopt the habit to answer one
excersice every day.
The list of challenges that i solve in datalemur in the easy level are:

  • Histogram of Tweets
  • Data science skills
  • Page with no likes
  • Unfinished parts
  • Laptop vs mobile viewership
  • Average post hiatus
  • Teams power users
  • Duplicate job listings
  • Cities with completed trades
  • Average review ratings
  • App click through rate ctr

Personal Projects

This was intended to be the most focus area of all that I did in the month, unfortunally I couldn't get
as many projects as I should wanted.
Some of the projects that I share were:

  • CLI in php.
  • Creating a nodejs api using Docker. Others Some laravel tutorials, etc.

Things That I improve from the past month

  • Frontend skills using tailwindcss and vue
  • Starting to adopt things like docker in my workflow. Things that I will focus in the next month
  • Making docker based projects (API using nodejs)
  • Using others alternatives for my backend as Supabase
  • Switching from using MySQL to PostgreSQL as main database
  • Switching from Laravel to Nodejs (with typescript) for my personal projects.
  • Using Typescript in Vue projects

Top comments (0)