DEV Community

Christine Belzie
Christine Belzie

Posted on

How are you prepping for Hacktoberfest?

Image description
If you're new to open source or like me, an avid open source contributor, and plan on participating in Hacktoberfest, share your tips on how you're preparing for this event in the comments.

Top comments (14)

Collapse
 
jarvisscript profile image
Chris Jarvis

I haven't done much yet. I'm drafting a blog post about it with link to what I've done previously. I need to look for project to I can contribute to.

I also need to determine if I can maintain a project this year. I did one last year but had to go off line a bit. When I can back I had been spammed by people that ignored my guidelines.
Maybe I just need to update those guidelines and say I'm only available certain times.

Collapse
 
cbid2 profile image
Christine Belzie • Edited

Maybe you can do that as a separate README file for Hacktoberfest @jarvisscript?

Collapse
 
jarvisscript profile image
Chris Jarvis

Maybe I had a contributor's guide based on Virtual Coffee's guidelines they have a full post about how to prepare. I'll make some update.

Collapse
 
arturobatistute profile image
Arturo Batistute

Completely newbie regarding open source.. I'm preparing my self with YouTube videos and dev.to posts as well.

Collapse
 
cbid2 profile image
Christine Belzie

That’s a good start @arturobatistute, but I highly recommend putting this knowledge into practice too! 😊Here are some beginner-friendly repository you can contribute to:

  1. Virtual Coffee Preptember Repo: github.com/Virtual-Coffee/vc-prept...
  2. EddieHub Hacktoberfest Practice Repo: github.com/EddieHubCommunity/hackt...
  3. OpenSauced/guestbook: github.com/open-sauced/guestbook
Collapse
 
arturobatistute profile image
Arturo Batistute

I'm going to take a look! Thanks a lot Christine!

Collapse
 
allieoopz profile image
Allison

We're planning to participate as a company (Infield) for the first time, and super excited.

Collapse
 
cbid2 profile image
Christine Belzie

Congratulations @allieoopz! :)

Collapse
 
dumebii profile image
Dumebi Okolo

I don't know that I have any tips, seeing as I've never really contributed to open source before. However, I'm actually very enthusiastic. I am currently reading as much as I can, and browsing projects that I can add some value to in the way I know to.

But mostly, I'm looking to gain courage and inspiration from other people's journeys.

Collapse
 
kelvinrfr profile image
Kelvin

I think a tip could be as a new to the open source community see anything that you could contribute. Specially document pages, spell checks or if examples and readme makes sense and etc. Usually the first open source contributions always start like those smaller fixes :)

Collapse
 
dumebii profile image
Dumebi Okolo

I have always wanted to find projects that I can contribute to their documentation, but I don't know how to find them/I have never found them.
The ones I see always require coding contributions.
How can I go about this?

Collapse
 
cbid2 profile image
Christine Belzie

Oooh good question @dumebii! :) I definitely recommend doing the following:

  1. Look through the Readme file and contributing guides of projects and check for things like typos, and missing information (e.g. Code of Conduct, no license)
  2. Check to see if a product's tutorial is missing important steps(I suggest contributing to the project first) or has outdated information If you want to work on projects that are docs-centric, I mentioned a few of them here in my FreeCodeCamp article.
Thread Thread
 
dumebii profile image
Dumebi Okolo

Oh! Okay. I'd do these then. Thanks so much!

Collapse
 
kelvinrfr profile image
Kelvin • Edited