DEV Community

Cover image for Introductions
coco
coco

Posted on

Introductions

Last week I had my first commercial meeting in English. I haven’t got used to them yet. Even though my job is to be with the team, Portinos’ accounts thought that it could be a good idea let the client know us. So they gave us some space to introduce ourselves and pitch some ideas. Everybody got their share at speaking: developers, designers and the data team together with the accounts jr.
I was so nervous, but It was a great idea and I am very grateful for that. :D

I hate introducing myself because I think that nobody cares who I am. I never want to talk about myself. The thing is that I am wrong. I know I am. I suppose I am just shy. Every time I must introduce myself I don’t know what to say. Fortunately Portinos’ CEO, made a quick guide for everybody and I wrote a mini speech of who I am and what I do. I wrote it down below if anybody would like to take a look at it.

The problem started when I was practising. First I started by reading it. But that´s quite odd; you cannot read who you are. You must know about yourself. However, when I was not reading it I got tangled with my own words.

I didn’t know what to do. L

So, I told my problem to my English teacher and she stopped the class to make me introduce myself about 20 times one after the other one. She also recorded my first and last versions so we could compare both at the end of the lesson. 
Wow!!! I couldn’t believe the difference. I finished doing great! I only needed to practise. :D

I found some tips here, better late than ever. They are useful for any presentation. :D

Bard tips:

  • Be well-prepared
  • Be brief and concise
  • Be clear and direct
  • Be positive and enthusiastic
  • Use images and videos
  • Practise your body language

Points to include:

  • Name and contact information
  • Educational and professional background
  • Skills and experience
  • Professional goals
  • Achievement and successes Optional:
  • Personal interests,
  • hobbies or passions.

And:

  • Practice,
  • practice,
  • practice 

I am sharing my speech with all you. I wish this can inspire someone.
:D

Whoami

I am coco. I am director Software Development at Portinos. I live in Buenos Aires.

I studied for being a film director and story teller. I tried for almost 10 years, but that didn’t work. :(
So, in 2012 I quit and I began my chapter as a software development. First I started as a freelancer and then I landed in Portinos in 2019. I started as a Full Stack Developer and next I upgraded to Tech leader and then to developer’s manager. My role is to coordinate different teams and their middle managers and most of all, to create new ones.
I like to think different how to fix issues and how to plan solutions. But mostly, I love connecting with people, coordinating teams, creating new ones and making them grow to be autonomous.

This last part is connected with my previous studies. Making a Film is like a making a product. From the Idea to the MVP. It’s always a team work, and my job is always to connect the different parts all together.

I’m a story teller, I’m telling my own story. :D

Top comments (0)