DEV Community

Cover image for Where do I see myself in 5 years?
coco
coco

Posted on

Where do I see myself in 5 years?

This is a typical question in any interview, but -sometimes- it is very useful to ask yourself the same question because when you are not looking for a job, you don’t have to push yourself for a correct answer. In fact, there is no correct answer at all. I invite you to think about your future, what you want to do or what you need to learn to get there.

As I mentioned above, I don’t want to write about how to answer this question. If you are looking for advice for this interview common question, you will find a lot of posts over the internet, or you could ask ChatGPT. I invite you to meditate about your life instead.

What do you really want?

I want to be a CTO. Therefore, I must work on that from now, so as in 5 years I will be able to ask for it. I think I am on a right track. However, if I never think on that, I could be missing something.

Imagine you want to be a gaming developer and you are studying Data analysis. Are you in the right path or not? You never know till you think about it.

Any CTO must know everything: Business, investment, finance, HR, technologies and trends. They must be clever and extroverted. They want challenges. And -of course- they want to be leaders.

I am following the plan I have designed for myself. As a result, I think I don’t have to focus on any technology. I must be open and absorb all I can, because a CTO has a lot of knowledge. Besides, I must pay special attention to increase as many soft skills as possible, because I will need them above all.

Even though I know I will have to jump a lot of stones and make some sacrifices, I will do it anyway as I want it, and that is the main reason for having a plan.

When I must face a new problem; learn a trend technology; or improve a soft skill; I know if it is a wasted time or not because I know what I need to be a CTO. If it is something essential I must do it right now. Otherwise, it could wait. Time is finite, and I need to distribute in the best way possible to be ready in 5 years.

What happen if I fail?

12 years ago, I wanted to be a script writer. It was something completely different. Those days I had another plan which failed. The truth is It doesn’t matter; any plan can fail. The intention is always the meditation and try to think pros and cons. Then you must trust on yourself and start to walk your track. What happen next is only life. *Enjoy it! *

Top comments (0)